12-05-05, 01:03 PM   #1
Thoinan
A Defias Bandit
Multi use macro

Trying to create a macro for any spell, whereas the script checks first if the spell is castable on the target, and if so, casts and prints a message. The whole idea is to stop <no target> spam. I'm new to scripting in WoW so bear with me:

/script CastSpellByName("spell"); ct = SpellCanTargetUnit("target") if (ct == 1) then SendChatMessage('your say message', 'Say') else SpellStopTargeting(); end

Just to break down what I'm trying to do:
1. Check if spell is castable on target and assign value ct.
2. If ct is true ( I'm assuming this is like good old binary whereas 1=true, 0=false) then execute the chat message.
3. If the spell is not castable, cancels targetting.

Am I approaching this correctly or is there a cleaner way to do this? Also getting an error

[string "CastSpellByName("spell"); ct = SpellCanTargetUnit("target") if (ct == 1) then SendChatMessage('your say message', 'Say') else SpellStopTargeting(); end ":1: `then' expected nearī`;'
12-05-05, 04:07 PM   #2
TigerHeart
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Try this

/script CastSpellByName("spell"); ct = SpellCanTargetUnit("target"); if (ct == 1) then SendChatMessage('your say message', 'Say'); else SpellStopTargeting(); end;
12-05-05, 04:26 PM   #3
Gello
A Molten Giant
That error is odd. Your syntax is fine. Are you sure there's no line breaks? When you begin a /script everything involved in the script must be one continuous line. You can use multiple /script's but they need to be self-contained. (ie, you can't do /script if (ct==1) then (newline) /script dostuff end) Copy-pasting can often add line breaks when it wraps. I'd double check there are none. Your syntax is correct.

That said, in that macro ct will never equal 1.