Quantcast Quests module causes screen to pause and restart - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
12-27-14, 10:28 PM   #1
Kalkrok
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Quests module causes screen to pause and restart

I noticed that when the quests module is loaded my character halts briefly and then continues. This occurs every few seconds. Not good. Always liked Carbonite and hope it can be fixed. Maps portion seems to work properly. Ed
 
12-27-14, 10:46 PM   #2
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,988
Mine was doing that eartlier this afternoon, but I re-adjusted my graphic settings and it stopped.
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
AddOn Authors: If your addon spams the chat box with "Addon v8.3.4.5.3 now loaded!", please add an option to disable it!
 
01-07-15, 03:38 PM   #3
graymouser
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Any idea what those display changes were? I'm experiencing the same thing glitching pauses. (also, Quests *seem* to cause a very long pause upon login). I have Lightheaded loaded as well, but both problems occur regardless.
 
01-07-15, 03:45 PM   #4
wildthotz
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
I've had this issue since adding in the Quest module. I removed all addons and my WTF folder, added back in Carbonite Maps alone, and things worked fine, then added in Carbonite Quests and it hangs/pauses on startup, sometimes will snap into working and other times will crash my game - meaning it kicks me off the server and I have to restart WoW. I absolutely luv Carbonite and have missed it dreadfully, and haven't really played since Christmas because whenever I have time, I spend it trying to make the Carbonite Quest module work. I loaded it on my brother's machine too, and though it pauses at game startup, it gets through it and works for him. I'm so frustrated.
 
01-07-15, 04:03 PM   #5
graymouser
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
I just disabled everything except carbonite & quests, and the pause is gone.

I re-enabled altoholic (plus dependancies, ie bits of datastore) and a) the longish login pause is back, the regular screen pauses are not.

I re-enabled datastore-quests, still no glitching.

Ok, so nothing obvious. Rinse and repeat we go.

edit: re-enabled all of lightheaded and my login pause went back to being VERY long, and the screen glitching is back. Now for the acid test.

editedit: confirmed. Everything I previously was using minus current version of lightheaded - no problems. Add Lightheaded back into the mix and get the glitchy behaviour plus a very long post-login delay. LightHeaded-v60000-1.2.0-2014-12-20.zip

thank goodness for addon control panel.

Now, I just have to track down what's currently causing "no player named" chat window spam. I see rythal has a bugfix on github for that reason. I have a few social addons, though. could be anything.

lastediteditedit: Now that I go look at LH's current comments, there are others there that have already pointed the finger of accusation. Ah well. Can't keep track of everything.

Last edited by graymouser : 01-07-15 at 04:32 PM.
 
01-08-15, 01:33 AM   #6
ircdirk
A Molten Giant
 
ircdirk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 688
Social spam is fixed on GitHub.

Good to know that latest version of LH is compatible with Carbonite. Ill check it and if thats comfirms ill remove Carbonite from thread with incomapatible addons.
 
01-08-15, 09:01 AM   #7
graymouser
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by ircdirk View Post
Social spam is fixed on GitHub.

Good to know that latest version of LH is compatible with Carbonite. Ill check it and if thats comfirms ill remove Carbonite from thread with incomapatible addons.
Er, I was saying the opposite: LH (for me) is confirmed to cause glitchy pauses every 2 seconds *and* an abominable 1 minute+ freeze upon login, in conjunction with carbonite quest.
 
01-08-15, 09:06 AM   #8
graymouser
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by ircdirk View Post
Social spam is fixed on GitHub.

Good to know that latest version of LH is compatible with Carbonite. Ill check it and if thats comfirms ill remove Carbonite from thread with incomapatible addons.
I gave the wrong impression, I think. LH (for wowinterface) and the non-github latest of carbonite quests cause glitchy every-2-seconds pauses plus a 1minute+ login freeze. I'll try LH with the github version your posts links to.
 
01-08-15, 09:18 AM   #9
graymouser
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by ircdirk View Post
Social spam is fixed on GitHub.

Good to know that latest version of LH is compatible with Carbonite. Ill check it and if thats comfirms ill remove Carbonite from thread with incomapatible addons.
I must have given the wrong impression.

LH from wowinterface plus the non-github version of carbonite was glitching. A copy from github that your post included *doesn't* seem to be glitching, nor was there the 1 minute+ freeze upon login.

Last edited by graymouser : 01-08-15 at 09:21 AM.
 
01-08-15, 09:40 AM   #10
ircdirk
A Molten Giant
 
ircdirk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 688
Originally Posted by graymouser View Post
I must have given the wrong impression.

LH from wowinterface plus the non-github version of carbonite was glitching. A copy from github that your post included *doesn't* seem to be glitching, nor was there the 1 minute+ freeze upon login.
There are many fixes in github version, so im not surprised that it works.
 
01-08-15, 12:22 PM   #11
wildthotz
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by graymouser View Post

edit: re-enabled all of lightheaded and my login pause went back to being VERY long, and the screen glitching is back. Now for the acid test.

editedit: confirmed. Everything I previously was using minus current version of lightheaded - no problems. Add Lightheaded back into the mix and get the glitchy behaviour plus a very long post-login delay. LightHeaded-v60000-1.2.0-2014-12-20.zip
Thanks graymouser & ircdirk. I hadn't caught the difference in the length of pausing that well. Removed LH for now, and though I still have a short delay, it does indeed seem to be the problem. Also grabbed Rythal's latest beta version, thanks to ircdirk's link in this thread to github. Glanced at LH comments too. My interface is totally playable again! Will do a bit more poking at it after work, but I'm SO happy right now! Will keep watch for news that LH and Carbonite play nicely together eventually. Thanks, thanks, thanks!
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite Archive » Quests module causes screen to pause and restart

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off