Quantcast Is there any way to add data to error reports? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
08-03-18, 10:22 AM   #1
MuffinManKen
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Is there any way to add data to error reports?

At a bare minimum I'd like to get the version of the addon displayed in the error reports that users send. If I understand things correctly, there are 2 basic options:
  1. Override the errorhandler. I could do this but then I'd be fighting with standalone error handler addons like BugSack, so I'm not sure that's a good idea.
  2. Use pcall, add to the error string and then call the system errorhandler. Having to wrap everything in a pcall would be a pain and I don't know what the cost of that would be at runtime (is pcall expensive?).

Have others done something like this?
  Reply With Quote
08-03-18, 11:20 AM   #2
Kanegasi
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Kanegasi's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 293
You could put a version or build number in your addon’s filenames. Players won’t be able to update your addon without exiting WoW though.
  Reply With Quote
08-03-18, 03:45 PM   #3
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,287
It's been almost two years since I've played WoW, but I would guess that this hasn't changed, and that would be that for an addon to update you can not be "in the game". Oh, if you're playing you can still update the addons - the update just won't take affect until you log completely out of the game.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?


Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.

Last edited by jeffy162 : 08-03-18 at 03:49 PM. Reason: more blah blah blah.
  Reply With Quote
08-03-18, 04:15 PM   #4
MuffinManKen
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Originally Posted by jeffy162 View Post
It's been almost two years since I've played WoW, but I would guess that this hasn't changed, and that would be that for an addon to update you can not be "in the game". Oh, if you're playing you can still update the addons - the update just won't take affect until you log completely out of the game.
Not exactly, if the lua files change you can reload the ui and it will work. TOC file changes require quitting and restarting though.
  Reply With Quote
08-03-18, 04:17 PM   #5
MuffinManKen
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Originally Posted by Kanegasi View Post
You could put a version or build number in your addon’s filenames. Players won’t be able to update your addon without exiting WoW though.
Points for creativity, but it's a bit ugly. I think git would hate me if every single file changed every release too.
  Reply With Quote
08-03-18, 08:55 PM   #6
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,287
Originally Posted by MuffinManKen View Post
Not exactly, if the lua files change you can reload the ui and it will work. TOC file changes require quitting and restarting though.
DOH!! You're correct and I'm not. Hmm ..... Go figure.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?


Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » Is there any way to add data to error reports?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off