Thread Tools Display Modes
01-09-11, 02:30 AM   #1
Ivivika
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Exclamation Macros in nUI

whenever I make a macro for spells on my warlock's cast bar and use the macro'd spell instead of the regular spell, NONE of the buttons light up to let me know spell is available. what did i do to break it?
 
01-09-11, 02:52 AM   #2
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
I've noticed that as well and I don't know whether its a nUI thing or a WoW thing so just listen for the proc sound and combat text warning fly up and the special graphic to appear to tell me it has procced ..

But it doesn't seem all macros are affected so maybe it depends how the macro is written.

EG. Are you adding [] as a default option for the spell ? I've found I've been using that alot now for it to have a fallback trigger if the rest fail.

#showtooltip
/cast [@mouseover, help, nodead][@target,help,nodead][] Heal

Which basically says help the alive mouseover target, or the actual target otherwise fall back to your default setting and deal with the scenario as if the macro wasn't written.

Perhaps that last scenario allows the spell alerts to happen and when they don't it coincides with macros that don't have that set up.

Outside of that I can't think of what could be the cause, unless the way nUI treats its bars even in nUI5 is messing things up .
__________________
 
01-09-11, 08:52 AM   #3
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
It may be something to do with the IsUsableAction() method. Does it do the same thing in nUI6?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
01-13-11, 02:01 AM   #4
unknowndead
A Cyclonian
 
unknowndead's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 41
it seem to be the same in nui 6
i use macros like this spec dependent one
#showtooltip
/cast [spec:1] chaos bolt
/cast [modifier:alt] Curse of Weakness
/cast [modifier:shift] Curse of Exhaustion
/cast [spec:2] Curse of Tongues
/cancelaura herbouflage
and it seems to show the global cooldown (not showing numbers) and when i cast the same spell
/cast chaos bolt
i do get the numbers in the cooldown
may just be how the macro are but if you can figure out how to get the timer to show that wold be wonderfull
o and a small request put the cooldown timer over the global cooldown, it is a little difficult to see when it is shaded over by the global cooldown

keep up the good work with nui 6 im glad to see a hud in it now, makes my life much ezer and less painful not having to look away from my toon to see my health when i might be standing in the fire o doom

Last edited by unknowndead : 01-13-11 at 02:10 AM.
 
01-13-11, 04:33 AM   #5
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Okay, just tested this with my priest and popped a renew on myself. As you can see from my screenshot the macro doesn't show the buff counter but the direct spell does.

Will try without nUI to see if it is the same problem and also with inline auras which I used to use before I persuaded Scott to add the functionality

Edit:
Okay with inline auras it works fine so there must be something they are looking at that is different from nUI. Here's a screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_011311_103044.jpg
Views:	833
Size:	318.1 KB
ID:	5593  Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_011311_103753.jpg
Views:	837
Size:	301.8 KB
ID:	5594  
__________________

Last edited by Xrystal : 01-13-11 at 04:40 AM.
 
01-13-11, 05:23 AM   #6
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I've added this to the bug list of nUI6. It's not a top priority, but I will look into how to fix this as soon as I can.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
01-13-11, 07:02 AM   #7
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
I've played with it some in the last few hours but try as I might I can't get it to display the value on the macro button despite having the values appear in both updateCooldown and abCooldown but it might be that I'm just doing stuff in the wrong area.

I can see InlineAura's code for getting the information and it seems to be retrieving the stuff Im expecting but it just doesn't get it in time for your display to use it or I'm not able to set a key variable at the right time.

I'll keep checking things out though later on.
__________________
 
01-13-11, 07:36 AM   #8
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I would suggest you try playing with it in the nUi6 code... the logic for the aura durations is located in the nUI6.LayoutEngine.ActionButtons.UpdateTimers method located in [ Interface > AddOns > nUI6 > Bars > ActionButtons.lua ] That's where the cooldown text and spell duration text is calculated.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
01-13-11, 07:46 AM   #9
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Will do, and I'll try and rig up something to work in nUI5 in the mean time. I don't use nUI6 myself at the moment. There always seems to be something I want where I want it to be that isn't there rofl
__________________
 
01-13-11, 08:08 AM   #10
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
At this point nUI6 is getting to a fairly playable state... you have cooldowns, a HUD, all the action bars and unit frames, etc. Still lots to do, but likely at a place as of last night where you can use it fairly effectively.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
01-13-11, 08:24 AM   #11
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Okay, seemingly easy as pie for the most part. probably needs some more work as not all macros worked but here goes.


Code:
				if buttonDetail.isPetButton then 
					spellName          = GetPetActionInfo( button:GetID() );
					spellType, spellId = spellName and GetSpellBookItemInfo( spellName, "pet" );
					caster             = UnitExists( "vehicle" ) and "vehicle" or "pet";
				else                    
					spellType, spellId = GetActionInfo( button.action );
					spellName          = spellId and GetSpellInfo( spellId );
					caster             = "player";
					
					if spellType == "macro" then
						spellName 		   = spellId and GetMacroSpell( spellId );
					end				end

				if spellId then
					start, duration, enable = GetSpellCooldown( spellId );
				end
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_011311_142147.jpg
Views:	818
Size:	324.1 KB
ID:	5596  
__________________
 
01-13-11, 02:58 PM   #12
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
And nUI Version 5 needed this change to work even the ones that didn't work in the version 6 code I posted earlier.

Code:
			elseif id
			and type == "macro" 
			and id > 0
			then

				local macroSpell,item,spell,helpful;
				
				if not SpellStatus[id] then SpellStatus[id] = {}; end;
				overlay.spellID        	= id;
				overlay.spellStatus    	= SpellStatus[id];
				macroSpell				= GetMacroSpell(id);
				macroItem				= GetMacroItem(id);
				
				if ( macroItem ) then
					item, spell = GetItemInfo(macroItem), GetItemSpell(macroItem)
				elseif ( macroSpell ) then
					spell = GetSpellInfo(macroSpell)
				end
				
				if ( spell ) then
					SpellStatus[id].name, SpellStatus[id].rank   = GetSpellInfo( spell );
				end
__________________
 
01-13-11, 05:20 PM   #13
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I suspect the GetMacroItem() call is needed in the nUI6 code, too, to make it work with all macros.

EDIT: See if this code block works...

Code:
                -- is there a cooldown on the action and what is the name of the action itself?
                
                if buttonDetail.isPetButton then 
                
                    spellName          = GetPetActionInfo( button:GetID() );
                    spellType, spellId = spellName and GetSpellBookItemInfo( spellName, "pet" );
                    caster             = UnitExists( "vehicle" ) and "vehicle" or "pet";
                    
                else
                                    
                    spellType, spellId = GetActionInfo( button.action );
                    caster             = "player";
                    
                    if spellType == "macro" then
                        local item = spellId and GetMacroItem( spellId );
                        spellName  = (item and GetItemSpell( item )) or (spellId and GetMacroSpell( spellId ));
                    else
                        spellName = spellId and GetSpellInfo( spellId );
                    end
                    
                end

                if spellName then
                    start, duration, enable = GetSpellCooldown( spellName );
                end
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/

Last edited by spiel2001 : 01-13-11 at 05:26 PM.
 
01-13-11, 06:36 PM   #14
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Yeah it probably will do, I did the nUI 5 version one afterwards and thought of adding it for completeness for trinkets and stuff like that

Turned off version 6 at the moment now that people are logging in rofl .. just in case we do stuff

I 'll test the code before rush hour tomorrow rofl.
__________________
 
01-14-11, 02:02 PM   #15
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Okay, made that change and it didn't stop stuff from working and it looks like the ones I wanted to see numbers on either aura timers or cooldown timers were there.
__________________
 
02-09-13, 04:18 PM   #16
Tordormore
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Hey guys, anyway I can get exact code info you did here? I'm having the same problem in latest version of nUI+. mod keys aren't working for macros placed in the ActionBars. Original action works, but mod keys don't allow the modified action to work.

Macro Example I use:

#showtooltip
/cast [mod:shift] Moonfire; Sunfire


Like I said, Sunfire works for this macro, when I hold down the shift key, I see the icon change to the Moonfire, but pressing the key again with the mod key doesn't trigger the macro. Works great outside of nUI.
 
02-09-13, 07:42 PM   #17
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Just restored my version of nUI+ to the latest version on site here and it works as far as I could see. On my shadow priest I replaced your spells with Mind Flay and Mind Sear and could use both depending on whether I had the shift button down or not.

Just in case you misunderstood the use of the modifier keys they are simply to highlight which ability will trigger when you activate the button. The modifier key itself does not trigger the ability but clicking the button or using the bound key will.
__________________
 
02-10-13, 04:12 PM   #18
Tordormore
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
hmmm,

interesting. I'll have strip all mods out except nUI+ and give it a try.
 
02-10-13, 05:36 PM   #19
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,359
Check that you haven't chosen SHIFT as a self-cast or focus-cast modifier.

Double check the spell names (best way is to shift-click them from the spellbook directly into the macro)
 
02-10-13, 11:55 PM   #20
Tordormore
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by Dridzt View Post
Check that you haven't chosen SHIFT as a self-cast or focus-cast modifier.

Double check the spell names (best way is to shift-click them from the spellbook directly into the macro)
That's a good point. I'll check that too.
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » Macros in nUI

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off