Thread Tools Display Modes
11-02-13, 09:37 PM   #1
Gregity
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 54
"IsDisabledByParentalControls" taint complaint

My AddOn's been getting a Taint Complaint and I can't figure out why. This started happening with the 5.4.1 patch and I figure Blizz just might have introduced a bug.

The Tracker is a replacement and doesn't hook Blizzard or anything of the like, it just draws its own frame.

It doesn't happen with any consistency and I can't make it fail on demand. Earlier today I even had the tracker disabled and then it complained (same taint complaint) but picked on OverAchiever.

Does the following give anyone a hint? I'm not even mentioned except in the text. And the AddOn continues to work, just the message pops up.

Here is the message that Swatter gives me:

Error occured in: AddOn: QuestGuru_Tracker
Message: Error: AddOn QuestGuru_Tracker attempted to call a forbidden function (IsDisabledByParentalControls()) from a tainted execution path.
Debug:
[C]: IsDisabledByParentalControls()
..\FrameXML\MainMenuBarMicroButtons.lua:229:
..\FrameXML\MainMenuBarMicroButtons.lua:76
[C]: UpdateMicroButtons()
..\FrameXML\WorldMapFrame.lua:272:
..\FrameXML\WorldMapFrame.lua:255
[C]: Show()
..\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:1772: SetUIPanel()
..\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:1614: ShowUIPanel()
..\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:1545:
..\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:1541
[C]: SetAttribute()
..\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:2262: ShowUIPanel()
..\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:2246: ToggleFrame()
[string "TOGGLEWORLDMAP"]:1:
[string "TOGGLEWORLDMAP"]:1
  Reply With Quote
11-02-13, 10:06 PM   #2
pelf
Sentient Plasmoid
 
pelf's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 133
http://forums.wowace.com/showthread.php?t=20818
  Reply With Quote
11-02-13, 10:10 PM   #3
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,359
I'd have to copy this post from wowace, so instead I'll link it.

You'll be able to follow the links to more information.
http://forums.wowace.com/showthread....288#post327288
  Reply With Quote
11-03-13, 03:43 AM   #4
pelf
Sentient Plasmoid
 
pelf's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 133
I discovered, tonight, that my spellbook no longer opens because of this error. I tried setting taintLog to 1 to just see what the log would say, but it still had the same lack of explanation for the source. So, I changed taintLog to 2. Wow. I'm not sure I'll ever do that again.

They need something halfway between 1 and 2. Right now, at 2, it's showing addon code tainting stuff that the addon code created. While it might be true that all of that stuff is really tainted, it's not really that relevant an observation. What it needs is a mode where taint creeping into anything that was there before addons were loaded is what it logs.

Well, I hope I don't need my spellbook anytime soon.
  Reply With Quote
11-03-13, 08:59 AM   #5
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
Here is a temporary fix for it:

Lua Code:
  1. setfenv(WorldMapFrame_OnShow, setmetatable({UpdateMicroButtons = function() end}, {__index = _G}))
  Reply With Quote
11-03-13, 09:24 AM   #6
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,359
Originally Posted by Resike View Post
Here is a temporary fix for it:

Lua Code:
  1. setfenv(WorldMapFrame_OnShow, setmetatable({UpdateMicroButtons = function() end}, {__index = _G}))
That is mentioned in the threads I linked earlier and is also not a generic fix.
It only works for frames that contain no secure elements (eg. WorldMapFrame) it will fail on any frame that does (Friends, Raid etc etc)

The best generic "fix" at the moment is selectively hiding the error popup as Oscarucb has suggested.
Code:
UIParent:HookScript("OnEvent", function(s, e, a1, a2) if e:find("ACTION_FORBIDDEN") and ((a1 or "")..(a2 or "")):find("IsDisabledByParentalControls") then StaticPopup_Hide(e) end; end)
  Reply With Quote
11-03-13, 09:41 AM   #7
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
Originally Posted by Dridzt View Post
That is mentioned in the threads I linked earlier and is also not a generic fix.
It only works for frames that contain no secure elements (eg. WorldMapFrame) it will fail on any frame that does (Friends, Raid etc etc)

The best generic "fix" at the moment is selectively hiding the error popup as Oscarucb has suggested.
Code:
UIParent:HookScript("OnEvent", function(s, e, a1, a2) if e:find("ACTION_FORBIDDEN") and ((a1 or "")..(a2 or "")):find("IsDisabledByParentalControls") then StaticPopup_Hide(e) end; end)
How about using both?
  Reply With Quote
11-03-13, 10:52 AM   #8
jaliborc
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
jaliborc's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 196
Originally Posted by Dridzt View Post
That is mentioned in the threads I linked earlier and is also not a generic fix.
It only works for frames that contain no secure elements (eg. WorldMapFrame) it will fail on any frame that does (Friends, Raid etc etc)

The best generic "fix" at the moment is selectively hiding the error popup as Oscarucb has suggested.
Code:
UIParent:HookScript("OnEvent", function(s, e, a1, a2) if e:find("ACTION_FORBIDDEN") and ((a1 or "")..(a2 or "")):find("IsDisabledByParentalControls") then StaticPopup_Hide(e) end; end)
Pretty nasty fix. Oh well, I guess it's the best of a bad situation. As long as it works... Oh Blizzard...
  Reply With Quote
11-03-13, 11:17 AM   #9
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
Originally Posted by jaliborc View Post
Pretty nasty fix. Oh well, I guess it's the best of a bad situation. As long as it works... Oh Blizzard...
Not sue why is hiding the error frame is a good solution, still gonna pop up as a lua error.
  Reply With Quote
11-03-13, 11:25 AM   #10
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,359
Originally Posted by Resike View Post
Not sue why is hiding the error frame is a good solution, still gonna pop up as a lua error.
Because in this particular case, actions are not really blocked for 99% of the situations other than from the static popup itself.
  Reply With Quote
11-03-13, 02:00 PM   #11
pelf
Sentient Plasmoid
 
pelf's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 133
Or, in my case, the Spellbook because (I assume) it's being launched from Dominos's menu button strip.

EDIT: And the achievement frame because of Overachiever.

Last edited by pelf : 11-03-13 at 06:38 PM.
  Reply With Quote
11-03-13, 06:35 PM   #12
Pvthudson01
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/to...8639018?page=1

IS there ANY WAY to fix this?
  Reply With Quote
11-03-13, 09:29 PM   #13
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
If you'd read the thread you linked, you would already know that there are several undesirable hacks you can use to avoid the error popup (that will break other things in the process), but there is no real way to fix the problem.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
11-14-13, 12:19 PM   #14
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,871
Is it just me or did they fix this in that last update?
EDIT: They being Blizzard.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 11-14-13 at 12:41 PM.
  Reply With Quote
11-14-13, 12:51 PM   #15
Nibelheim
local roygbi-
 
Nibelheim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,600
Originally Posted by Fizzlemizz View Post
Is it just me or did they fix this in that last update?
EDIT: They being Blizzard.
Looks to be fixed on the PTR.
  Reply With Quote
11-16-13, 05:07 PM   #16
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,871
It may be that I'm silliy enough to maintian a couple of ancient addons and I'm not lua smart enough to spot the flaming obvious. After the last stealth patch that seemed to fix this problem I was still getting the error after opening the options window for "my" addons and then trying to open other in-game windows guild, friends, professions etc.

I tracked the problem down to the TOCs containing the following entries

Code:
..\..\FrameXML\Fonts.xml
..\..\FrameXML\UIDropDownMenuTemplates.xml
..\..\FrameXML\UIDropDownMenu.xml
..\..\FrameXML\UIPanelTemplates.lua
..\..\FrameXML\UIPanelTemplates.xml
Once they were deleted, problem solved.

If you find this usefull great, if you find it an excuse to point out how lame I am at coding, enjoy .
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
11-17-13, 04:48 AM   #17
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Why on earth would you ever call FrameXML files from an addon TOC?!?!?!?! All those files are already loaded before the game even thinks about loading addons...
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
11-17-13, 04:48 AM   #18
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
Originally Posted by Fizzlemizz View Post
It may be that I'm silliy enough to maintian a couple of ancient addons and I'm not lua smart enough to spot the flaming obvious. After the last stealth patch that seemed to fix this problem I was still getting the error after opening the options window for "my" addons and then trying to open other in-game windows guild, friends, professions etc.

I tracked the problem down to the TOCs containing the following entries

Code:
..\..\FrameXML\Fonts.xml
..\..\FrameXML\UIDropDownMenuTemplates.xml
..\..\FrameXML\UIDropDownMenu.xml
..\..\FrameXML\UIPanelTemplates.lua
..\..\FrameXML\UIPanelTemplates.xml
Once they were deleted, problem solved.

If you find this usefull great, if you find it an excuse to point out how lame I am at coding, enjoy .
Why would any addon's toc containt thoose items?
  Reply With Quote
11-17-13, 07:46 AM   #19
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
I imagine Fizzle thought that adding files to the ToC is like adding references in .NET or importing on Java, or anything like that

It's just for the files in your own addon.
  Reply With Quote
11-17-13, 11:36 AM   #20
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,871
These entries were already in the TOC files when I got them. The addons in question (DUF and DART) were originally created in vanilla WoW and have been maintained by various people through the ages.

Edit: It's nice to know the answer is "I'm not lua smart enough to spot the flaming obvious AND I'm silliy enough to maintian a couple of ancient addons." :P
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 11-17-13 at 12:22 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » "IsDisabledByParentalControls" taint complaint

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off