Quantcast
Compatibility Issue with CarboniteBETA-542a5 and TomTom - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
05-08-14, 11:40 AM   #1
kelseir
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Compatibility Issue with CarboniteBETA-542a5 and TomTom

I recently downloaded this version of Carbonite (CarboniteBETA-542a5) and found that there is a problem with TomTom v50400-1.0.0. I believe that is the most current version of TomTom.

I had been using this version of TomTom for over a year without an issue. I was also using an old version of Carbonite (CarboniteBETA-530a1) until recently and there was no problem until this newer version of Carbonite was installed.

The problems occurs whenever I die. I get the following Lua error that just keeps repeating. The error window will not close down so I need to log out to clear it.

Code:
Message: Interface\AddOns\TomTom\TomTom_Corpse.lua:112: attempt to index field 'profile' (a nil value)

Time: 05/08/14 11:04:24

Count: 74
Stack: [C]: ?
Interface\AddOns\TomTom\TomTom_Corpse.lua:112: in function <Interface\AddOns\TomTom\TomTom_Corpse.lua:106>


Locals:
I tested by turning off all addons and just turning on TomTom, there was no issue when I died. I then turned on carbonite (no other addons) and the errors came back.

I was testing on the Timeless Isle at around coords 71.2 58.0 in the Blazing Way. I just kept allowing an elite to kill me there.

However, it should be noted that this problem happened everytime I died in various locations in Pandaria. I did not test it on other maps.

I'm using DugisGuideViewerZ 2.733 in order to get TomTom functionality and that seems ok at the moment. I just thought I would let you know about this issue.

Still love the Carbonite product! Thanks for doing such a great job with it.
 
05-08-14, 01:51 PM   #2
Tactica
Not Amused
 
Tactica's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 96
Originally Posted by kelseir View Post
I recently downloaded this version of Carbonite (CarboniteBETA-542a5) and found that there is a problem with TomTom v50400-1.0.0. I believe that is the most current version of TomTom...I tested by turning off all addons and just turning on TomTom, there was no issue when I died. I then turned on carbonite (no other addons) and the errors came back.
Seeing as TomTom works fine without Carbonite, and is broked with carbonite, then I would assume the issue lies within the Carbonite code. Thus, I would suggest you post in the Carbonite Forums specifically the Carbonite Bug Reports - Beta Release Version.

You are more likely to get some help there. I don't use Carbonite and can't help with this.
__________________
In a cult, there is a person at the top who knows it's a scam. In a religion, that person is dead.
 
05-08-14, 02:16 PM   #3
Nimhfree
A Frostmaul Preserver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 264
Carbonite attempts to pretend to be TomTom, and unfortunately does not do a complete job of it. Therefore, the TomTom code that is being called in the OnUpdate handler which looks like:

if TomTom.profile.general.corpse_arrow then

is going to fail when the TomTom variable gets redefined in Carbonite with:

-- Emulate TomTom
if Nx.db.profile.Track.EmuTomTom and not Nx.RealTom then
TomTom = {}
Nx.EmulateTomTom()
end

The problem is Carbonite sets RealTom to be true only if TomTom is loaded before Cabonite is loaded. And unfortunately you seem to be in a situation where your Carbonite is loading first.

I would suggest a workaround that should help you is to modify the Carbonite.toc file to add a line that looks like:

# OptionalDeps: TomTom

up near the ## SavedVariables line.

This should make TomTom load before Carbonite, allowing Carbonite not to kill TomTom. I am hoping this will work for you, but I could be wrong. Good luck.
 
05-08-14, 03:27 PM   #4
kelseir
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by Tactica View Post
Seeing as TomTom works fine without Carbonite, and is broked with carbonite, then I would assume the issue lies within the Carbonite code. Thus, I would suggest you post in the Carbonite Forums specifically the Carbonite Bug Reports - Beta Release Version.

You are more likely to get some help there. I don't use Carbonite and can't help with this.
My apologies.. I did not realize I posted in the wrong area. Thank you for pointing this out. I'll log it in the area you suggested.

Thanks again.
 
05-08-14, 03:27 PM   #5
kelseir
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by Nimhfree View Post
Carbonite attempts to pretend to be TomTom, and unfortunately does not do a complete job of it. Therefore, the TomTom code that is being called in the OnUpdate handler which looks like:

if TomTom.profile.general.corpse_arrow then

is going to fail when the TomTom variable gets redefined in Carbonite with:

-- Emulate TomTom
if Nx.db.profile.Track.EmuTomTom and not Nx.RealTom then
TomTom = {}
Nx.EmulateTomTom()
end

The problem is Carbonite sets RealTom to be true only if TomTom is loaded before Cabonite is loaded. And unfortunately you seem to be in a situation where your Carbonite is loading first.

I would suggest a workaround that should help you is to modify the Carbonite.toc file to add a line that looks like:

# OptionalDeps: TomTom

up near the ## SavedVariables line.

This should make TomTom load before Carbonite, allowing Carbonite not to kill TomTom. I am hoping this will work for you, but I could be wrong. Good luck.
Thank you. I will try this out and tell you if it works.
 
05-08-14, 08:10 PM   #6
kelseir
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by kelseir View Post
Thank you. I will try this out and tell you if it works.
I gave this a try but it did not work.

I appreciate you trying to help though!

Thank you!
 
05-15-14, 03:52 PM   #7
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,458
Carbonite forces itself to be the last thing that loads by delaying doing anything at all until after your in world, so it shouldn't be a case of Carbonite loading before tomtom does.

I would suggest turning off Tomtom emulation in your carbonite preferences. Since your using the real tomtom you don't need it.
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite Archive » Compatibility Issue with CarboniteBETA-542a5 and TomTom

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off