02-07-12, 10:14 AM   #1
kindbuddy
A Defias Bandit
Carbonite using more memory

Carbonite usually uses 8mb, but yesterday I noticed that it consistently uses 13-14mb and it never goes below that now. I have not changed any options or anything. Any thoughts why that might be?

02-07-12, 01:42 PM   #2
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
I've been using Carbonite for a little over three years. I never knew how much memory any of my addons used until I started using something to track it. Carbonite and Auctioneer have always been at the top of that list, and Carbonite always used between 10 and 14 megs of memory. For me.

Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.
Carbonite-CLASSIC<----- GitHub link to Carbonite Classic. Thanks to ircdirk for this!

02-08-12, 03:25 PM   #3
anteract
Premium Member
Premium Member
Originally Posted by kindbuddy View Post
Carbonite usually uses 8mb, but yesterday I noticed that it consistently uses 13-14mb and it never goes below that now. I have not changed any options or anything. Any thoughts why that might be?
64 bit Wow by chance? Memory is handled MUCH differently.

Not a worry really, when it gets to 1Gb then maybe a concern.

02-09-12, 12:14 PM   #4
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer

Originally Posted by kindbuddy View Post

Nothing really to worry about. How much memory an addon uses will not impact game performance. It could use 50mb and it still would not impact the games performance.

The only time to worry is if an addon has a memory leak or if it's just poorly coded. Carbonite is fine.

03-09-12, 03:47 PM   #5
Duxy
A Kobold Labourer
If it doesn't impact game performance, then why when I (have to) turn it off during my 25man raids does my performance improve?