Quantcast Feature requests for TomTom - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
04-04-09, 03:02 PM   #1
Cladhaire
Salad!
 
Cladhaire's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,935
Feature requests for TomTom

I'd like to hear what you guys would like to see added to TomTom. I'll keep the main post updated with suggestions, so feel free to ping me if I don't update it when you post something new. In particular I'd love to hear how you would like the addon to WORK for you, things like optimization I can manage on my own. Please try to be as specific as you can, and feel free to outline an entire workflow.

Requests:
  • Instead of saying "this zone" perhaps you could look up the zone the waypoint in question references, and then change the text to "Remove all waypoints from <Zone name>"
  • It would be nice to have an option to supply an icon texture when using the TomTom API.
  • Is there a way to get the distance to waypoint to show in the LDB display (directly - rather than in the tooltip)?
  • Can you add the Send To -> Party .. options to the crazy arrow's menu (stand-alone and LDB)? It's much easier to grap the current waypoint that way than to try to pick it out of the army of points I tend to have on my minimap or to flip to my world map.
__________________
"There's only one thing that I know how to do well and I've often been told that you only can do what you know how to do well, and that's be you-- be what you're like-- be like yourself. And so I'm having a wonderful time, but I'd rather be whistling in the dark..."

Last edited by Cladhaire : 05-27-09 at 02:24 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04-04-09, 03:11 PM   #2
Zergreth
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Zergreth's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 24
A way to set new waypoints by shift-right-clicking (or some other combo) on the world map would sure as hell be awesome :D
  Reply With Quote
04-04-09, 03:28 PM   #3
Cladhaire
Salad!
 
Cladhaire's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,935
This already exists.. Open World Map Options, and set the modifier in order for it to work.
__________________
"There's only one thing that I know how to do well and I've often been told that you only can do what you know how to do well, and that's be you-- be what you're like-- be like yourself. And so I'm having a wonderful time, but I'd rather be whistling in the dark..."
  Reply With Quote
04-04-09, 05:26 PM   #4
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 818
When removing waypoints, the context of "Remove all waypoints from this zone" can become ambiguous. This happens especially when referring to the crazy taxi arrow pointing to another zone.

Instead of saying "this zone" perhaps you could look up the zone the waypoint in question references, and then change the text to "Remove all waypoints from <Zone name>"
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
  Reply With Quote
04-05-09, 07:34 AM   #5
Zergreth
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Zergreth's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 24
Originally Posted by Cladhaire View Post
This already exists.. Open World Map Options, and set the modifier in order for it to work.
Holy ****, I must be blind >.<
  Reply With Quote
04-05-09, 07:53 AM   #6
Slakah
A Molten Giant
 
Slakah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 863
It might be nice to have an option to set the icon texture when using the TomTom API.
  Reply With Quote
05-27-09, 02:07 PM   #7
forty2j
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 232
LDB - display distance

Is there a way to get the distance to waypoint to show in the LDB display (directly - rather than in the tooltip)?
  Reply With Quote
05-27-09, 02:07 PM   #8
forty2j
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 232
Crazy Arrow Menu

Can you add the Send To -> Party .. options to the crazy arrow's menu (stand-alone and LDB)? It's much easier to grap the current waypoint that way than to try to pick it out of the army of points I tend to have on my minimap or to flip to my world map.
  Reply With Quote
06-24-09, 03:43 PM   #9
Carvynn
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
A way to set the waypoint marker color would be nice, for instance in the Summer Festival to differentiate between the Horde and the Alliance waypoints with a Red or Blue marker.
  Reply With Quote
08-04-09, 11:57 AM   #10
Hambil
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
3.2 Poi

Does the new POI API supply co-ords, and if so will Tomtom make use of them?
  Reply With Quote
08-04-09, 11:58 AM   #11
Cladhaire
Salad!
 
Cladhaire's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,935
The new POI system is not new because its not actually included in the build.. it was pulled a few PTR patches ago. Also, there's not really anything for TomTom to "take advantage" of. TomTom just displays waypoints.. so I'd be interested to hear what TomTom could do with that data?
__________________
"There's only one thing that I know how to do well and I've often been told that you only can do what you know how to do well, and that's be you-- be what you're like-- be like yourself. And so I'm having a wonderful time, but I'd rather be whistling in the dark..."
  Reply With Quote
08-04-09, 12:01 PM   #12
Hambil
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Well, nothing if it's not in the build. But I was hoping that the POI system was going to contain co-ordinates for quests objectives and quest givers. Perhaps I misunderstood. If it did (does when and if it is released) then I assume Blizz has some way of accessing that. It would be nice not to need such heavy mods as Carbonite or Quest Helper anymore - plus in theory a Blizz supplied database would be more complete?
  Reply With Quote
08-04-09, 12:02 PM   #13
Cladhaire
Salad!
 
Cladhaire's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,935
Originally Posted by Hambil View Post
Well, nothing if it's not in the build. But I was hoping that the POI system was going to contain co-ordinates for quests objectives and quest givers. Perhaps I misunderstood. If it did (does when and if it is released) then I assume Blizz has some way of accessing that. It would be nice not to need such heavy mods as Carbonite or Quest Helper anymore - plus in theory a Blizz supplied database would be more complete?
Well that's not something for TomTom. An addon could easily make decisions based on the quest POIs when they eventually come into play, but that wouldn't be something to go in TomTom. A TomTom_QuestPOI addon or something would be the best bit.
__________________
"There's only one thing that I know how to do well and I've often been told that you only can do what you know how to do well, and that's be you-- be what you're like-- be like yourself. And so I'm having a wonderful time, but I'd rather be whistling in the dark..."
  Reply With Quote
08-04-09, 12:25 PM   #14
Cantankerous
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Thank you so much for this addon. It would be nice to have an option for what text to display when there is no waypoint set, and also change the text and arrow color. I was able to find "No waypoint" in the Lua so now I show "-" instead and a gray arrow. It's less distracting as my arrow is in my DockingStation top bar.
  Reply With Quote
08-12-09, 06:26 PM   #15
Baraius
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by forty2j View Post
Is there a way to get the distance to waypoint to show in the LDB display (directly - rather than in the tooltip)?
Me too on this one. That's the only niggle I have.

-Baraius
  Reply With Quote
08-16-09, 01:50 AM   #16
Cirk
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Cirk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 226
Hi Cladhaire,

Would it be possible to modify TomTom to have it to store the (dragged) location of the TomTomCrazyArrow frame in the profile?

Reason I'm asking is that if I ever start up WoW without TomTom present and enabled, which happens often enough on new patch days when everything is already a little crazy , then the client tends to discard the position information that it normally stores automatically, and I end up with the crazy arrow back in the center of the screen again, for every character, ugh!

I know managing the position stuff can be a bit of a pita (handling reset, screen size changes, etc.) and the problem doesn't happen that often, but it sure would be nice to have...

-- Cirk
__________________
Cirk's Addons
  Reply With Quote
09-03-09, 04:44 AM   #17
rubberwow
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Bigger numbers

Hi Cladhaire, my father is getting old and has trouble reading the details on the screen of his TomTom one. He finds the speed display particularly useful, because it is displayed in relation to the current speed limit, but he cannot see it easily. Is there a way to augment one or all of the statistics visually? I can imagine having the current speed (or the time for example) fill the screen, in some degree of opacity, while still allowing the twists and turns of the road ahead to be seen.

R.
  Reply With Quote
09-03-09, 05:35 AM   #18
Cladhaire
Salad!
 
Cladhaire's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,935
I'm not sure I really understand. The speed isn't displayed anywhere in TomTom, are you perhaps thinking of another addon? As for the ETA, that information is already displayed with the TomTom arrow, but I'm not sure what you're asking me to do to it. I definitely can sympathise with having issues seeing, but I'm not sure what you're asking for!
__________________
"There's only one thing that I know how to do well and I've often been told that you only can do what you know how to do well, and that's be you-- be what you're like-- be like yourself. And so I'm having a wonderful time, but I'd rather be whistling in the dark..."
  Reply With Quote
09-03-09, 07:07 AM   #19
Miralen
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Miralen's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
I am wondering and maybe this is dumb of me to think this but are you referring to the World of Warcraft addon TomTom or the Portable GPS Device TomTom. As I re-read your post rubberwow it sounds more and more like the latter...But I could be very wrong.
__________________
Never hold discussions with the monkey when the organ grinder is in the room.

- Winston Churchill
  Reply With Quote
09-03-09, 07:26 AM   #20
Cladhaire
Salad!
 
Cladhaire's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,935
That would be incredibly interesting.. :P
__________________
"There's only one thing that I know how to do well and I've often been told that you only can do what you know how to do well, and that's be you-- be what you're like-- be like yourself. And so I'm having a wonderful time, but I'd rather be whistling in the dark..."
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Cladhaire's Mods » Feature requests for TomTom

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off