Thread Tools Display Modes
07-22-18, 07:29 AM   #1
Lyak
A Cyclonian
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 46
5x Deferred XML Node object named oUF_ClickCastUnitTemplate already exists

Hi all,

I basically have two of my addons embed oUF as a library.
(let's call them AddonA and AddonB)

And just now, it started to popping the following error as soon as I log in to my toon.

Lua Code:
  1. 5x Deferred XML Node object named oUF_ClickCastUnitTemplate already exists

The interesting fact is that those two addons currently do nothing but loading oUF as an embedded library.

I honestly don't know why this is happening as those two addons have been co-existing since the Legion

Obviously disabling either of them would stop crying for such error.

Would this be a bug with Blizzard's end?

Last edited by Lyak : 07-22-18 at 07:33 AM.
  Reply With Quote
07-22-18, 07:42 AM   #2
lightspark
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
lightspark's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 341
It's not a bug. Having multiple XML objects w/ identical names has become an error in BfA.

Ideally, embeddable libraries shouldn't create/define anything in XML because it's impossible to update such objects. But due to oUF's nature, we have to use XML templates because there's no way to do what we need in Lua.

The only solution to your problem is to disabled embedded oUF in both addons, and to use standalone version of oUF for them.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
07-22-18, 08:49 AM   #3
Lyak
A Cyclonian
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by lightspark View Post
It's not a bug. Having multiple XML objects w/ identical names has become an error in BfA.

Ideally, embeddable libraries shouldn't create/define anything in XML because it's impossible to update such objects. But due to oUF's nature, we have to use XML templates because there's no way to do what we need in Lua.

The only solution to your problem is to disabled embedded oUF in both addons, and to use standalone version of oUF for them.
Hm............

Would there be any possible ways to load one's embedded oUF only when there is no oUF loaded yet, instead of making it standalone?
(Maybe like version checking done on LibStub)

Guessing there's none as you stated tho

Last edited by Lyak : 07-22-18 at 08:51 AM.
  Reply With Quote
07-22-18, 11:31 AM   #4
lightspark
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
lightspark's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 341
LibStub won't help.

As I said, your best bet is to use oUF as a standalone addon, then both addons will use it. Alternatively, you can disable error reporting entirely
__________________
  Reply With Quote
07-22-18, 05:37 PM   #5
Lyak
A Cyclonian
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by lightspark View Post
LibStub won't help.

As I said, your best bet is to use oUF as a standalone addon, then both addons will use it. Alternatively, you can disable error reporting entirely
So, I only need to do:
  1. Pull out oUF to addons folder
  2. disable embedded oUF
  3. add tag(## RequiredDeps: oUF) for both addons

right?!

It's sad that I can't use custom tag ##X-oUF thing
  Reply With Quote
07-22-18, 06:57 PM   #6
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Blame Blizzard for not letting us create templates with Lua or allow us to set certain attributes outside XML.

Originally Posted by Lyak View Post
So, I only need to do:
  1. Pull out oUF to addons folder
  2. disable embedded oUF
  3. add tag(## RequiredDeps: oUF) for both addons

right?!

It's sad that I can't use custom tag ##X-oUF thing
Try it? Always better to try it out yourself before asking.
  Reply With Quote
07-23-18, 05:52 AM   #7
runamonk
A Theradrim Guardian
 
runamonk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 61
I created an addon that loads all my shared libraries. So that way I don't have any duplicates that I want to embed, including oUF. This works out really nice. Then I don't have to clutter up my addon list with a bunch of addons that are frameworks or libraries.
  Reply With Quote
07-23-18, 08:01 AM   #8
Lyak
A Cyclonian
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
Blame Blizzard for not letting us create templates with Lua or allow us to set certain attributes outside XML.
So sad

Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
Try it? Always better to try it out yourself before asking.
True... Will try it when I have a time!

Originally Posted by runamonk View Post
I created an addon that loads all my shared libraries. So that way I don't have any duplicates that I want to embed, including oUF. This works out really nice. Then I don't have to clutter up my addon list with a bunch of addons that are frameworks or libraries.
Maybe I should do something similar.

It might be inefficient, but I want all those libraries gathered in a single pack, not placed individually within an addon folder.
  Reply With Quote
07-23-18, 08:15 AM   #9
runamonk
A Theradrim Guardian
 
runamonk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 61
Me too. That's how I did mine. It makes it easier to manage too.

I put all my shared stuff in a single addon and organized in folders by type (assets, libs, sounds, fonts, etc) and then make all my other addons dependent on it. I'm a little anal retentive lmao.

Here is how I have mine laid out.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AoICZc1JonHCgd4s-MtjieXYdnv1ZQ

Last edited by runamonk : 07-23-18 at 08:22 AM.
  Reply With Quote
07-25-18, 02:19 PM   #10
Fnordson
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
This thread appears as top result for the error on google.
Could any of you elaborate on how to fix it as a normal person?
I don't even know which add on produces this...
  Reply With Quote
07-25-18, 03:14 PM   #11
Kanegasi
A Molten Giant
 
Kanegasi's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 666
Any addon that loads the same library that uses XML-declared frames that any other addon has already loaded can generate this error. In this specific thread (and forum), oUF had the error.

It’s an error that’s not an error. There’s nothing wrong, just Blizzard doing weird things. It only ever shows up when the UI loads, so I’d just ignore it.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » oUF (Otravi Unit Frames) » 5x Deferred XML Node object named oUF_ClickCastUnitTemplate already exists

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off