05-07-12, 05:56 PM   #1
Ketho
A Pyroguard Emberseer

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
tables, table.unpack and nil values

• I'm confused why the first example does print the nil values, but the latter does not.
    Aren't these tables the "same"?
    1. Lua Code:
      1. local t = {nil, nil, 3, 7, nil, 4}
      3. print(#t) -- 6
      4. print(unpack(t)) -- nil, nil, 3, 7, nil, 4
    2. Lua Code:
      1. local t = {}
      2. t[3] = 3
      3. t[4] = 7
      4. t[6] = 4
      6. print(#t) -- 0
      7. print(unpack(t)) -- nil
    I was always thinking that table.unpack can't iterate over "holes" in the same way as an ipairs-loop
    (I'm not a programmer, and I don't know what's the proper terminology)

• On another note, I'm also wondering about this (4 months old) post from Lur,
    concerning tables with a nil value at the end of a table
    Originally Posted by Lur View Post
    Thanks a lot. But why
    Lua Code:
    1. local t1 = {1, 2, nil, "wwew", nil, 3} -- #t1 = 6
    2. local t2 = {1, 2, nil, "wwew", 3, nil} -- #t2 = 2

What's wrong with all of that? Why tables with a nil as the last value are truncated to the first nil occurrence while with any non-nil end are counted correct?
05-07-12, 07:05 PM   #2
Foxlit
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
unpack(t, i, j) returns t[i], t[i+1], ..., t[j]; if you do not specify i or j, they're defaulted to 1 and #t respectively -- so whether unpack will return values from an array with holes in it depends on the behavior of #t.

The Length Operator