Quantcast
How do we mark our addons as WotLK ready? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
08-08-08, 10:55 PM   #1
LaoTseu
A Cyclonian
 
LaoTseu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
How do we mark our addons as WotLK ready?

I know we can upload the addons for the beta in a specific section but what do we do for addon that are updated and compatible for both the normal game and the beta?
  Reply With Quote
08-09-08, 12:36 AM   #2
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
I'll be adding a WOTLK flag very soon.
  Reply With Quote
08-09-08, 01:00 AM   #3
Tekkub
Featured Artist
 
Tekkub's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 960
Faster!

Harder!

Deeper!

Oh Daddy Dolby!
  Reply With Quote
08-09-08, 01:04 AM   #4
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
mmmm bacon
  Reply With Quote
08-09-08, 02:58 AM   #5
TomWolf
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 27
Still it might be dangerous to say that an addon is wotlk ready. WotLK beta compadible is more true.
  Reply With Quote
08-12-08, 12:43 AM   #6
arkayenro
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
stupid question. i've fixed my existing mod to be beta capable but its not backwards compatible with the live servers.

how do i "update" my mod to keep both versions visible? ie, i do not want users getting the beta version easily because it'll just barf if run on live.
  Reply With Quote
08-12-08, 03:25 AM   #7
Mera
Retired of WoW, In ESO :)
 
Mera's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 331
Originally Posted by arkayenro View Post
stupid question. i've fixed my existing mod to be beta capable but its not backwards compatible with the live servers.

how do i "update" my mod to keep both versions visible? ie, i do not want users getting the beta version easily because it'll just barf if run on live.
you can post a wotlk version in the wowinterface beta section, add its state to the wiki page, if it is a Ace2 or Ace3 working addon you can also upload to the wowace svn branche where most updated for wotlk ace addons goes first in an <addon>/WotLK/ directory, this to not replace the trunk versions which are more dedicated to the live wow client or wotlk addon not requiring a patch for wotlk.
__________________
If you need to reach me I'm in ESO, @class101 or "Fathis Ules i"
addons: SpamBayes, BrokerCPU
projects: ThunderBayes
Mera[xeh]? - La CroisadeEcarlate (wow)
  Reply With Quote
08-12-08, 10:03 AM   #8
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,757
oh yay, I've been missing AI. Put it in the WotLK download cat, as already suggested, arkayenro. You can also just link to your normal download page for description/screenshots instead of entering it in again if you like.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
08-12-08, 03:20 PM   #9
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,112
Okay, Dolby has added the WotLK flag. It is *off* by default, for now. But it does mean that you can tag your "live" addons as being WotLK compatible as well.

[edit] In addition, Dolby has added some code so that there is a link at the top of the WotLK Beta download category that links to any "live" addons that have been flagged for WotLK. So now if you have a "live" version that works for both live and WotLK, you don't have to have it in both categories seperately. If you still want to have a seperate version in the WotLK Beta though, because they still need testing or whatever, you are certainly welcome to.

Last edited by Cairenn : 08-12-08 at 03:52 PM.
  Reply With Quote
08-12-08, 03:26 PM   #10
Tekkub
Featured Artist
 
Tekkub's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 960
Sweeeeeeeeet
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » How do we mark our addons as WotLK ready?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off