Thread Tools Display Modes
07-14-11, 06:28 AM   #1
Syliha
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Syliha's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 104
[Request] Hide Background & Border of Chatbox

Hey there,

I want to hide the border and background for the chatbox you type your text in (mostly on the bottom of your chatbox).

Is this possible? I don't want to have an extra addon for this, just a line or how much you need which i could add to an existing one. (Ok new addon is also possible :P).

Anyone able to help me?

Thanks!
__________________
Balance is, when everyone is unhappy.
  Reply With Quote
07-14-11, 08:13 AM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
You can replace the textures with blank ones.
http://wowprogramming.com/utils/artb...face/CHATFRAME
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
12-02-11, 09:27 AM   #3
Syliha
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Syliha's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 104
Sorry for some necro =)

I have tried this and i found out that i can do it much easier by editing something in the lua of zchat.

Now i got this white border left and do not know how to remove it (: Any suggestions?



Oh and btw zchat code therefore:

Code:
 -- edit box appearance
  array = {
    "Left",
    "Right",
    "Mid"
  };
  
  for _, v in ipairs(array) do
    _G["ChatFrame1EditBox" .. v]:Hide();
  end
  
  if editBoxOnTop then
    ChatFrame1EditBox:ClearAllPoints();
    ChatFrame1EditBox:SetPoint("BOTTOMLEFT", ChatFrame1, "TOPLEFT", -2, 2);
    ChatFrame1EditBox:SetPoint("BOTTOMRIGHT", ChatFrame1, "TOPRIGHT", 5, 2);
  end

  local box = CreateFrame("Frame", nil);
  box:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", ChatFrame1EditBox, "TOPLEFT", 5, -5);
  box:SetPoint("BOTTOMRIGHT", ChatFrame1EditBox, "BOTTOMRIGHT", -5, 4);
  --ChatFrame1EditBox:SetFrameStrata("TOOLTIP");
	box:SetFrameStrata("HIGH");
  
  ChatFrame1EditBox:SetScript("OnShow", function() box:Show(); end);
  ChatFrame1EditBox:SetScript("OnHide", function() box:Hide(); end);
__________________
Balance is, when everyone is unhappy.
  Reply With Quote
12-02-11, 11:33 AM   #4
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
That's another texture from the edit box.

If you go to the link I posted above, you can see all of the various textures.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
12-04-11, 05:41 AM   #5
Syliha
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Syliha's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 104
I am really sorry to waste your time :/ But i think i am just to dumb to find the right graphic there =( Could you please tell me which one should be the right one? Thanks again and sorry for the continues questions...
__________________
Balance is, when everyone is unhappy.
  Reply With Quote
12-04-11, 11:21 AM   #6
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,364
I'm guessing that the graphics you are looking for are all of the ones on that page that have anything in their titles about the chat input box. It looks like there are ten of them.
  • UI-CHATINPUTBORDER-LEFT.png
  • UI-CHATINPUTBORDER-RIGHT.png
  • UI-ChatInputBorder-Left2.png
  • UI-ChatInputBorder-Mid.png
  • UI-ChatInputBorder-Mid2.png
  • UI-ChatInputBorder-Right2.png
  • UI-ChatInputBorder.png
  • UI-ChatInputBorderFocus-Left.png
  • UI-ChatInputBorderFocus-Mid.png
  • UI-ChatInputBorderFocus-Right.png

If it is not necessary to use a blank graphic for all of them, I'm sure someone will jump in here and correct me. 8^) You can see the graphics by clicking on the "Show all images" link at the top of the list. In the bottom row you will see what appears to be a blank space next to the single edit box graphic. That's not a blank space, it's the three "Focus" graphics.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?


Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.
Carbonite-CLASSIC<----- GitHub link to Carbonite Classic. Thanks to ircdirk for this!

Last edited by jeffy162 : 12-04-11 at 11:35 AM. Reason: Incorrect information. DOH!
  Reply With Quote
12-04-11, 08:59 PM   #7
Syliha
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Syliha's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 104
I've replaced every one of these 10 with blanket graphics and the broder is still there =(
__________________
Balance is, when everyone is unhappy.
  Reply With Quote
12-05-11, 03:49 AM   #8
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
https://github.com/tekkub/wow-ui-sou.../ChatFrame.xml

Look for any line that says "<Texture ... file="Path\To\FileName"> and make sure you have a replacement image with the correct name and file path. Also, your replacement images, even if completely transparent, must be a valid WoW texture file, or WoW will ignore them. That means:

1. Their dimensions must be powers of 2, so 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, etc. The height and width do not need to be the same, so a 2x4 image is just as valid as a 2x2 one.

2. They must be in BLP or TGA format, unless you are using a Mac. (WoW only reads PNG images on the Mac platform, unless this has changed recently.) There are a number of tools in the WoW Tools & Utilities section of WoWI that can convert PNG images to BLP or TGA format.
  Reply With Quote
12-05-11, 07:56 AM   #9
Syliha
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Syliha's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 104
Ok... i must be totaly dumb and stupid

I created a 32x32 tga transparent file with nothing in it, by using photoshop.

I renamed it after copying several times to:
UI-ChatInputBorderFocus-Left.tga
UI-ChatInputBorderFocus-Mid.tga
UI-ChatInputBorderFocus-Right.tga
UI-ChatInputBorder-Left2.tga
UI-ChatInputBorder-Mid2.tga
UI-ChatInputBorder-Right2.tga

and put them into:
C:\World of Warcraft\Interface\ChatFrame

And it changed nothing... sorry ... :/
__________________
Balance is, when everyone is unhappy.
  Reply With Quote
12-05-11, 11:46 PM   #10
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
Were you completely exited out of the game?

Texture replacements (including for the chat frame) are working fine for me...

Try them as a .blp file instead.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
12-06-11, 12:29 AM   #11
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,364
Originally Posted by Syliha View Post

and put them into:
C:\World of Warcraft\Interface\ChatFrame
Try renaming the folder to "CHATFRAME" (without the quotes).

I use the "addon" AI-Art and that's how the chatframe graphics folder is titled. ALL CAPS. I'm not sure if that will make a difference, but it might be worth a try.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?


Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.
Carbonite-CLASSIC<----- GitHub link to Carbonite Classic. Thanks to ircdirk for this!
  Reply With Quote
12-06-11, 03:33 AM   #12
cormanthor
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
cormanthor's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 97
Try adding in the following to zchat, where you've modified the rest:
Code:
editBox.focusLeft:SetAlpha(0)
editBox.focusRight:SetAlpha(0)
editBox.focusMid:SetAlpha(0)
source: http://wowprogramming.com/utils/xmlb.../ChatFrame.lua
__________________
Some days it's just not worth chewing through the restraints...
  Reply With Quote
12-06-11, 05:09 AM   #13
Syliha
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Syliha's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 104
zchat editing did not work, Rename did not work, blp seem to work but the convertion ( at least i think that's the problem) did not work:

http://www.abload.de/img/chathwrwv.png

I used:
http://wc3r.forumcircle.com/viewtopic.php?t=4075

My tga files were saved at 32 bit and tested 16bit also and are uncompressed 32x32 res.

:/
__________________
Balance is, when everyone is unhappy.
  Reply With Quote
12-06-11, 07:39 AM   #14
cormanthor
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
cormanthor's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 97
Sorry about the code above. I was searching through the XML and wasn't thinking clearly when I posted it. Here is what I am running (in a Lite Panels layout OnLoad() function) to make the chat edit box disappear entirely.
Code:
ChatFrame1EditBoxLeft:SetAlpha(0)
ChatFrame1EditBoxMid:SetAlpha(0)
ChatFrame1EditBoxRight:SetAlpha(0)
ChatFrame1EditBox.focusLeft:SetAlpha(0)
ChatFrame1EditBox.focusMid:SetAlpha(0)
ChatFrame1EditBox.focusRight:SetAlpha(0)
This, of course, is followed by my assignment of a backdrop I made via ChatFrame1EditBox:SetBackdrop(backdrop).
__________________
Some days it's just not worth chewing through the restraints...
  Reply With Quote
12-06-11, 08:23 AM   #15
Syliha
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Syliha's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 104
Worked! Thx so much! =)

PS: Any way to hide the chattabs with the same way?
__________________
Balance is, when everyone is unhappy.

Last edited by Syliha : 12-06-11 at 08:52 AM.
  Reply With Quote
12-06-11, 09:06 AM   #16
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,196
You can do that and quite a few other things with ChatAlerts.
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of NPCScan and many other AddOns.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » [Request] Hide Background & Border of Chatbox

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off