Quantcast Simulating Raid Environments - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
12-28-14, 11:42 PM   #1
Blurg
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
Simulating Raid Environments

Hey how are you going,

So I'm looking to start creating my own raid UI however I have ran into the issue of being able to test what my addons look like in raids / arenas unless I physically am in one. Is there any addons that simulate 25 man raids so I can test the look of my UI?

Cheers
  Reply With Quote
12-29-14, 01:53 AM   #2
Tim
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Tim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 266
You can show the arena frames by either typing this in chat or set it as a macro

Code:
/run LoadAddOn("Blizzard_ArenaUI");ArenaEnemyFrames:Show();ArenaEnemyFrame1:Show();ArenaEnemyFrame2:Show();ArenaEnemyFrame3:Show();ArenaEnemyFrame1CastingBar:Show()
As for the raid frames I'm not sure there is an easy way to do so with blizzards frames. If you're using 3rd party mods I doubt they have any test mode like many used to during the earlier wow years.
__________________
AddOns: Tim @ WoWInterface
Characters: Warrior, Shaman, DH, Mage, Pally
Current PC Setup: PCPartPicker List
  Reply With Quote
12-29-14, 02:27 AM   #3
Marthisdil
An Onyxian Warder
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 363
Originally Posted by Tim View Post
You can show the arena frames by either typing this in chat or set it as a macro

Code:
/run LoadAddOn("Blizzard_ArenaUI");ArenaEnemyFrames:Show();ArenaEnemyFrame1:Show();ArenaEnemyFrame2:Show();ArenaEnemyFrame3:Show();ArenaEnemyFrame1CastingBar:Show()
As for the raid frames I'm not sure there is an easy way to do so with blizzards frames. If you're using 3rd party mods I doubt they have any test mode like many used to during the earlier wow years.
RealUI you can show all the UI elements to move them around as necessary.
__________________

Marth



  Reply With Quote
12-29-14, 02:45 AM   #4
Tim
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Tim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 266
RealUI doesn't help the person if they're not using that UI.
__________________
AddOns: Tim @ WoWInterface
Characters: Warrior, Shaman, DH, Mage, Pally
Current PC Setup: PCPartPicker List
  Reply With Quote
12-29-14, 06:13 AM   #5
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 851
The only way I know about is joining a battleground.
  Reply With Quote
12-29-14, 10:51 AM   #6
ravagernl
Proceritate Corporis
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,176
Originally Posted by Blurg View Post
Is there any addons that simulate 25 man raids so I can test the look of my UI?
That depends on the AddOn you are using to display raid frames.
  Reply With Quote
12-29-14, 11:27 AM   #7
10leej
A Molten Giant
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 574
Originally Posted by Duugu View Post
The only way I know about is joining a battleground.
That's what I do. Just queue up for alterac valley.
__________________
Tweets Website
  Reply With Quote
12-29-14, 12:23 PM   #8
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,598
Originally Posted by ravagernl View Post
That depends on the AddOn you are using to display raid frames.
This ^^. What addon ARE you using?
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
01-03-15, 02:07 PM   #9
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 792
Long time ago someone tried making an addon that hijacked the API required to feed fake data, i.e. a 40 man raid. In turn the UI would update and show the different elements accordingly. Shame it died out back then... the idea is neat.
__________________
Profile: Curse | Wowhead
  Reply With Quote
01-03-15, 06:41 PM   #10
JDoubleU00
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
JDoubleU00's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 406
Many unit frames as Seerah mentioned can display them. I know Shadowed UF can show them for placement.
__________________
Author of JWExpBar and JWRepBar.
  Reply With Quote
01-03-15, 09:02 PM   #11
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by Vlad View Post
Long time ago someone tried making an addon that hijacked the API required to feed fake data, i.e. a 40 man raid. In turn the UI would update and show the different elements accordingly. Shame it died out back then... the idea is neat.
The problem with that is that it will cause massive taint everywhere, and if you entered combat without first reloading the UI, you would have a broken UI and millions of error messages.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
01-04-15, 01:46 AM   #12
Banknorris
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Banknorris's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 153
Vuhdo has a test mode where you can see 5,10, 25, 40 man raids even being solo. It is in the "move" tab.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Simulating Raid Environments

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off