Quantcast >> Carbonite << (or ??) - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
01-28-15, 08:10 PM   #1
sumoldguy
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
>> Carbonite << (or ??)

I often get lost when searching for the right place to post questions regarding this addon due to it's licensing and the amount of people who update the addon.

So forgive me if I am posting in the wrong area.

What I most loved about carbonite was it's ability to guide you to your next quest objective.

Quest Helper did a good job of this too at one point in time.

Now that I am getting used to wow without carbonite.. Could someone please give me a [current] alternative to quest routing/navigation ?

Thank you!
  Reply With Quote
01-28-15, 08:15 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,600
(I moved your post from Help/Support to Search/Requests.)


The one that inspired those two:
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...32-TomTom.html
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
01-28-15, 08:16 PM   #3
sumoldguy
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
The one that inspired those two:
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...32-TomTom.html[/quote]

I tried tomtom, even with no other addons, massive errors. would be great to see an update to this
  Reply With Quote
01-28-15, 09:07 PM   #4
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
I use TomTom with about 150 other addons, and have not seen any errors from it. If you're seeing errors, make sure you really have the latest version of the addon (completely delete your existing copy, and download a fresh copy) and then post the actual error message (if there's more than one, typically only the first one is relevant).
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
01-28-15, 09:32 PM   #5
sumoldguy
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
I use TomTom with about 150 other addons, and have not seen any errors from it. If you're seeing errors, make sure you really have the latest version of the addon (completely delete your existing copy, and download a fresh copy) and then post the actual error message (if there's more than one, typically only the first one is relevant).
Thanks, a simple update and voila!

Anyone know if quest helper or a similar questing addon is updated?
  Reply With Quote
01-28-15, 09:57 PM   #6
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by sumoldguy View Post
Anyone know if quest helper or a similar questing addon is updated?
What features are you looking for? Other than TomTom's arrow, the default UI gives you pretty much everything you need. Quest objective and turn-in locations are clearly marked on the world map and minimap. Quest-related NPCs, monsters, and objects have a glowy outline (unless you've turned it off) and info in their tooltips telling you which quest they're for.

(Note you may need to turn on TomTom's automatic quest integration yourself; I don't remember if it's on by default or not.)
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
01-28-15, 10:59 PM   #7
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,600
If you really want it, the author of TomTom has another addon called LightHeaded.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
01-29-15, 10:48 AM   #8
ravagernl
Proceritate Corporis
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,176
As Phanx said, the default UI does indeed do a good job. But maybe you want to see trailing ants over your map to your objective or something like suggestions on what to do first?

There are guide AddOns out there, but I won't give you their names as they charge you to download. If they would actually provide their guides for free, then maybe I would actually consider donating to them.

Other then that, isn't it fun to find out the best order of doing quests yourself?
  Reply With Quote
01-29-15, 11:01 AM   #9
Choonstertwo
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Choonstertwo's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 194
Are you aware that Carbonite is being actively developed for 6.0? Your post kind of gave me the impression that you thought Carbonite was dead.

If you knew this and have decided not to use it, don't mind this post.
  Reply With Quote
01-29-15, 11:59 AM   #10
sumoldguy
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by Choonstertwo View Post
Are you aware that Carbonite is being actively developed for 6.0? Your post kind of gave me the impression that you thought Carbonite was dead.

If you knew this and have decided not to use it, don't mind this post.
I love carbonite, but the carbonite quests portion is bungled up and throwing massive erros
  Reply With Quote
01-29-15, 02:50 PM   #11
Marthisdil
An Onyxian Warder
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 363
Originally Posted by ravagernl View Post
Other then that, isn't it fun to find out the best order of doing quests yourself?
Not really. After going through hem once or twice, you just want to get them done efficiently to save time.
__________________

Marth



  Reply With Quote
01-29-15, 07:31 PM   #12
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by Marthisdil View Post
Not really. After going through hem once or twice, you just want to get them done efficiently to save time.
I agree, but I don't think you need an addon for that. The default UI show you exactly where to go, and TomTom gives you a giant arrow pointing to the nearest objective, and once you've done the quests a few times you should be able to remember if, say, you should do the quests in Area B before Area A, even though Area A is a little closer, because the Area B quests give you another quest for Area A.

However, there's really not much of that going on anymore -- Blizzard has done a pretty good job of making questing very linear, so you only have to go into a particular area once, instead of doing some quests there, going to another area, and then later being sent back to the first area.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
01-29-15, 07:39 PM   #13
sumoldguy
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
i got carbonite working (mostly) by only using the maps and the quests portions, the bugs are now tolerable, less frequent and don't crash my game.

Although tomtom doesn't work with it.. but would not need both.

You all been very helpful, thanks.
  Reply With Quote
01-29-15, 09:44 PM   #14
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,988
I'm at the point where I'm only using Carbonite when I group with my sweetie (he likes seeing if we're on the same quests), and even then I only use the tracker. Otherwise I use the built in quest tracker along with TomTom.

Honestly, Carbonite isn't necessary anymore for me.
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
AddOn Authors: If your addon spams the chat box with "Addon v8.3.4.5.3 now loaded!", please add an option to disable it!
  Reply With Quote
01-29-15, 10:02 PM   #15
sumoldguy
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
yeah, i'm trying to ween myself off of it too
  Reply With Quote
01-29-15, 10:50 PM   #16
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by Petrah View Post
I'm at the point where I'm only using Carbonite when I group with my sweetie (he likes seeing if we're on the same quests), and even then I only use the tracker.
Quecho may be of use here.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
01-30-15, 09:49 AM   #17
madde007
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
What about http://www.wowinterface.com/download...Essential.html ?
  Reply With Quote
01-30-15, 01:09 PM   #18
sumoldguy
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by madde007 View Post
I tried that, but it appears to have it's own issues with placing things on the screen, once in a while i'd find my minimap on the center of the screen. yet could not move it..
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » >> Carbonite << (or ??)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off