Thread Tools Display Modes
04-15-09, 08:18 PM   #1
khurzog
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
khurzog's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 266
Question dual spec switching

right now i'm using talented, and it takes quite a few clicks to swap specs. would be nice have something that provided a quick spec swap, like a broker icon to click.... or maybe all i need is a macro, anyone already have a solution? if not then the creation of such an addon would be most helpful
  Reply With Quote
04-15-09, 09:00 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
Try this:
Code:
/run SetActiveTalentGroup(groupIndex)
where group index is either 1 or 2 depending on what you want to switch to
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
04-16-09, 01:07 AM   #3
IBLJerry
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Code:
/run SetActiveTalentGroup(3 - GetActiveTalentGroup())

The script above will switch your spec. The corresponding macro should look like:

Code:
/usetalents [spec:2] 1; 2
(I'm relatively bad at macro, so it might not work right away.
  Reply With Quote
04-16-09, 07:08 PM   #4
khurzog
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
khurzog's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 266
thanks btw, both worked great
  Reply With Quote
04-17-09, 11:12 AM   #5
Psychophan7
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 153
That macro is just what I was looking for!

I also had other ideas relating to dual spec that might actually require an addon:
• Suppressing the messages about what talent spells you've learned/unlearned. When I switch between holy and shadow on my priest, I get 38 messages about spells each time I change specs.

• Executing a script when done changing specs. Addon commands, /saying things, doing an /emote; Things that can be automated by an addon. This could be useful for changing profile settings for any number of addons. On my paladin, for example, it could be setup to have RatingBuster change settings so items are only valued for the spec I'm in, and also make my LDB plugins change.

The second point would really be great for hybrid classes. Instead of having to set up one UI to accomodate both specs, players would be able to effectively set up two UIs (depending on how many addons use profiles).
  Reply With Quote
04-17-09, 11:27 AM   #6
Ravendwyr
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Ravendwyr's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 139
There is also this addon on the Curse website.
It's LDB based though, so you will need an LDB display addon, like Titan Panel or Fortress, to use it.
__________________
Twitter | GitHub
  Reply With Quote
04-17-09, 12:16 PM   #7
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
Psychophan7: have a look at the addon Reflux.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » dual spec switching


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off