06-07-14, 02:42 AM   #1
ImportedDj
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Extremely New to Making addons for WoW.. Need some help! :)

Hey guys,

So I'm new to WoW Addons, LUA and XML.. I wish to learn these two languages and since they work well with a game i play everyday.. I thought perhaps making addons would be the best starting place.. So Far Im currently trying to figure out how to get a simple image on the screen.. XML has always been a problem for me.. I've avoided it for years.. I've done other programming languages before so Lua should be fairly easy to catch onto.. But Right now im trying to get a simple Image on the screen.. This image will be on the bottom area which serves as a background for Actionbars the char area.. This is what the current image looks like

The current code i have for this is

Code:
 <Ui xmlns="http://www.blizzard.com/wow/ui/"
       xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<Texture name="BgIMG" file="Background\BgIMG" alphaMode="ADD">
  <Size>
    <AbsDimension x="13" y="13"/>
  </Size>
  <Anchors>
    <Anchor point="BOTTOM">
      <Offset>
        <AbsDimension x="0" y="0"/>
      </Offset>
    </Anchor>
  </Anchors>
</Texture>
I am probably missing quite a bit.. I have the TOC file loaded and when i check addons in WoW it appears in the list.. However when going into game nothing appears on the screen.. Would anyone be able to assist with this? (Please note. I've been reading up on the wowwiki.com site.. but since every area is so spread out.. and it doesnt give a example or template of what the standard anchors are for a texture.. Im sure i've done something wrong)
06-07-14, 05:01 AM   #2
Lombra
A Molten Giant

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
The good news is, you're not gonna need to learn XML at all! At least not until you start making raid frames. :P