Quantcast CombatMonitor 2 beta discussion - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
06-15-07, 01:07 PM   #1
Satrina
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
CombatMonitor 2 beta discussion

You can get CM2 here: http://www.wowinterface.com/download...fo.php?id=7276

Please share your thoughts, comments, bugs here.

This is the first beta of CM2. I am looking for feedback on:
- Data collection and correctness
- Comments and thoughts on UI and data display
- Ideas for features

Known issues
- No edit box in the options to set your block value yet
- The data display may not span the width of the window at all resolutions and scales.
- CM2 does not yet force the periodic damage setting to on. As such, some DoTs may not be tracked properly
- Resisted damage doesn't show properly sometimes

On the list, sooner than later
- Incoming DPS monitor (as CM1 has)
- Slash commands
- An "all of everything" view
- Opponent list sorting/filtering
- On/Off button is on the list
- UI polising

On the list, later than sooner
Save and compare data sets
Thanks!

Last edited by Satrina : 06-19-07 at 08:29 PM.
  Reply With Quote
06-16-07, 10:15 AM   #2
imaz
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
loading it up now, thanks for all your hard work
  Reply With Quote
06-16-07, 02:48 PM   #3
Tylius
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Glad to see you're working on a newer one!

My comments on the UI:
Seems clunky compared to the previous one, which was really sleek and informative, I understand that this one is beta however and will probably be polished up
  Reply With Quote
06-17-07, 07:42 AM   #4
Satrina
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
I assume you are referring to the "sleek" factor, since there's way more information available in CM2 =) UI polish will happen, for sure.
  Reply With Quote
06-18-07, 08:19 AM   #5
Tylius
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Originally Posted by Satrina
I assume you are referring to the "sleek" factor, since there's way more information available in CM2 =) UI polish will happen, for sure.
Main thing for me I liked, was the 'overall' combat stats showing when you clicked it, and then showing it for the mob when you target/choose from the menu

Was nice to quickly check it at the end of a dungeon to see if crits happened or not, etc (Well, before, when it was hard to reach the crit cap =p)
  Reply With Quote
06-19-07, 10:33 AM   #6
Highfather
A Kobold Labourer
 
Highfather's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Just an idea about the mob list - atm after you finish a raid instance the list is huge and its hard to find your way in it. A solution for that is to add filters for the tracked mobs or to add lvl tag before the mob name (or icon for bosses) so its easier for the person using the addon to find his way through the mob list.

Perhaps it would be useful for some ppl if you add pause/resume button so that it doesnt track when the user does not want it to track, not everyone enjoys relogging just to activate an addon for the raid.

Since this addon is ment mainly to help the tank analyse the fight it might be useful to add an option to save a fight and load it later so you can compare your stats with different gear sets etc.

The addon Recap (updated by Hawksy) has such features and in my experience they're useful.
  Reply With Quote
06-19-07, 08:27 PM   #7
Satrina
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
- An "all of everything" view can make its way back in, easy enough.
- I plan to do something with the opponent list for sorting.
- On/Off button is on the list, will definitely be in beta2
- Save and compare is a good idea, but will definitely come later
  Reply With Quote
06-27-07, 02:29 PM   #8
Cluey
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Really looking forward to trying this out and providing all the feedback I can

I just looked at the zip file and the directory is still called CombatMonitor.
I modified your last released one to function, to the best of my ability, and have been using it for a while.
Can I simply change a directory name and run both at once to compare between them or will this break something?

I seem to remember reading somewhere that you weren't happy with the recording of the old one, hence CM2, will this mean running both at once won't give useful data?
  Reply With Quote
07-08-07, 10:48 AM   #9
Cheflatho
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Love the addon and looking forward to getting it back up and running. Installed it a couple weeks ago and it worked for a day or 2, but now I'm getting the following error msg. Hope this helps and thanks for all your work.

Date: 2007-07-08 12:41:32
ID: 54
Error occured in: Global
Count: 1
Message: ...e\AddOns\CombatMonitor\CombatMonitorOpponentList.lua line 100:
attempt to get length of field 'data' (a nil value)
Debug:
[C]: ?
...e\AddOns\CombatMonitor\CombatMonitorOpponentList.lua:100: UpdateOpponentList()
CombatMonitor\CombatMonitor.lua:97: OnClick()
[string "*:OnMouseDown"]:5:
[string "*:OnMouseDown"]:1
AddOns:
Atlas, v1.9.1
AtlasBattlegrounds, v1.9.1
AtlasDungeonLocs, v1.9.1
AtlasFlightPaths, v1.9.1
AtlasOutdoorRaids, v1.9.1
AtlasLoot, vAtlasLoot Enhanced v3.01.04
Auctioneer, v4.0.2
BeanCounter, v4.0.2
CombatMonitor, v2
CTMailMod, v2.0 (CTMod 2.0)
Enchantrix, v4.0.3.2003
EnchantrixBarker, v3.9.0.1560 (Wallaby)
EnhTooltip, v4.0.3.1926
FishingBuddy, v0.9.2b
Informant, v4.0.2
ItemRack
MTLove, v2.1.3a
Omen, v2.1r42522
sct, v5.61
sctd, v2.33
Stubby, v1917
Swatter, v4.0.3.1871
TankPoints, v2.6.8 (r39338)
LootLink, v350
DBMAPI
Koordinator

Last edited by Cheflatho : 07-08-07 at 11:42 AM.
  Reply With Quote
07-09-07, 05:14 PM   #10
Satrina
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Cluey: They both won't run together, no.

Cheflatho: Thanks, I'll look into it

Everyone: Beta 2 is in nearing release ready. Bunch of new stuff, and the display has been polished. I'll let you all know when it's ready!
  Reply With Quote
07-19-07, 04:26 PM   #11
Tylius
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Originally Posted by Satrina
Cluey: They both won't run together, no.

Cheflatho: Thanks, I'll look into it

Everyone: Beta 2 is in nearing release ready. Bunch of new stuff, and the display has been polished. I'll let you all know when it's ready!
Can't wait!
Well..I can...eagerly
  Reply With Quote
07-25-07, 05:15 PM   #12
Surak314
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Can't get CM2 to run

I may be missing something obvious, but I can't get CombatMonitor2 report anything. I have disabled all of my other add-ons. I click in the little '+' button and it depresses, but nothing happens. Any suggestions?
  Reply With Quote
08-07-07, 09:31 PM   #13
Satrina
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Sorry for the long absence, work has been kicking my butt recently.

Surak - if you have the + button, that means that CM will only track mobs you tell it to track. Target a mob, then click the + button. Now whenever it hits you, its damage will be tracked. You can set CM to track all mobs in the options.

2.1RC2 is still in progress. Once work slows down and Satrina Buff Frames 2.7.0 goes to release, I am back on CM2.
  Reply With Quote
08-26-07, 10:10 AM   #14
Bogota
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
titan panel hides CM2 button

My titan panel hides the CM2 button. Is there another way (slash command?) I can bring up the CM2 panel? Or move the button?
  Reply With Quote
08-29-07, 04:12 PM   #15
lowlevel
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Originally Posted by Bogota
My titan panel hides the CM2 button. Is there another way (slash command?) I can bring up the CM2 panel? Or move the button?
same here. please tell how to move button or some slash command please!

EDIT: nah, I got it from the xml. /script CombatMonitor.display:ShowDetails() is the key. You can create a macro or just paste it...

Last edited by lowlevel : 08-29-07 at 04:49 PM.
  Reply With Quote
09-18-07, 07:25 AM   #16
Fionn
A Defias Bandit
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by Satrina
Everyone: Beta 2 is in nearing release ready. Bunch of new stuff, and the display has been polished. I'll let you all know when it's ready!
Cant await
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » Alpha/Beta AddOns and Compilations » CombatMonitor 2 beta discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off