Quantcast
Should I be concerned about a short freeze? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
11-25-10, 05:22 AM   #1
Sojik
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Sojik's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 53
Should I be concerned about a short freeze?

I'm working on an addon that swaps keybind loadouts when I swap dual specs. It works alright but it does all it's magic on one event (namely ACTIVE_TALENT_GROUP_CHANGED). It has to go through every key on a keyboard and all the modifiers for each key and build a table and read from another table. My concern is that it freezes my game momentarily when I switch specs. Is this something I should be concerned about? Will this crash others likely?
  Reply With Quote
11-25-10, 02:12 PM   #2
Grimsin
A Molten Giant
 
Grimsin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 990
Originally Posted by Sojik View Post
I'm working on an addon that swaps keybind loadouts when I swap dual specs. It works alright but it does all it's magic on one event (namely ACTIVE_TALENT_GROUP_CHANGED). It has to go through every key on a keyboard and all the modifiers for each key and build a table and read from another table. My concern is that it freezes my game momentarily when I switch specs. Is this something I should be concerned about? Will this crash others likely?
How momentarily? I get a fairly decent pause when i switch talents with or without addons...
__________________
"Are we there yet?"

GrimUI
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
11-25-10, 02:26 PM   #3
Nobgul
A Molten Giant
 
Nobgul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
I would deff be interested in the time. You could put a execution timer in and print the results to your chat frame, this way you know exactly how long it is taking.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
11-25-10, 06:59 PM   #4
Sojik
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Sojik's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 53
Hm. I'll feel pretty embarrassed if this pause is normal and has nothing to do with my addon since it is only a second at the most. Maybe I just haven't noticed it till now. I swapped spec probably 40 times yesterday testing this thing.

I'll report back.

EDIT: No it's definitely the addon because it doesn't happen after the first respec when I delete my saved variables.

EDIT2: I put time prints at the beginning and end of the function and with all my addons enabled and with just my addon enabled I at most get one second differences. half of the time it doesn't even register a difference. I guess that means it's nothing to worry about.

Last edited by Sojik : 11-25-10 at 07:14 PM.
  Reply With Quote
11-26-10, 12:21 AM   #5
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 851
Originally Posted by Sojik View Post
I'm working on an addon that swaps keybind loadouts when I swap dual specs. It works alright but it does all it's magic on one event (namely ACTIVE_TALENT_GROUP_CHANGED). It has to go through every key on a keyboard and all the modifiers for each key and build a table and read from another table. My concern is that it freezes my game momentarily when I switch specs. Is this something I should be concerned about? Will this crash others likely?
Just ignore that. It really doesn't matter.

In case you are concerned about breaking other addons ... that can't happen. The wow client processes addon code sequential and can't "miss" code due to "freezes".
  Reply With Quote
11-26-10, 10:43 AM   #6
Grimsin
A Molten Giant
 
Grimsin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 990
I think his concern was more about crashing the game for people with lesser systems. Not likely, although not out of the question. My experience thus far has been that it wont crash because of excess processing, however certain code mistakes will cause a crash or to much taint seems to crash it to.
__________________
"Are we there yet?"

GrimUI
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Should I be concerned about a short freeze?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off