Quantcast Things I've noticed - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
11-18-14, 06:58 PM   #1
Ovario
An Aku'mai Servant
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 30
Things I've noticed

Bug: Addon versions are only recognized correctly about 50% of the time, which results in updating back to an older version or a wrong addon altogether.

Feature Request: Give us the ability to update compilations hosted on WoWInterface.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
11-19-14, 09:10 AM   #2
ComputerNerd
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Version numbering is iffy, as it is trying to compare numbers in a very simplistic fashion.
Is X number bigger than Y or not.

That tends to fail when they insert extra letters randomly, or revert to revision / build numbers suddenly instead of some decimal version of major/minor releases.

I think curse works because of the curseforge backend which they likely refer to for the sequence of version numbering.
  Reply With Quote
11-19-14, 02:09 PM   #3
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by ComputerNerd View Post
Version numbering is iffy, as it is trying to compare numbers in a very simplistic fashion.
Is X number bigger than Y or not.
It's not even that sophisticated... it's literally just checking if both version numbers/strings are the same and telling you to update if they're not. If you have version 9 installed, but the WoWI page is still on version 2, you'll be told to update.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
11-19-14, 05:02 PM   #4
JDoubleU00
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
JDoubleU00's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 408
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
It's not even that sophisticated... it's literally just checking if both version numbers/strings are the same and telling you to update if they're not. If you have version 9 installed, but the WoWI page is still on version 2, you'll be told to update.
That does not make sense. Shouldn't the logic be WI has a newer (i.e. higher) version number than what you have? I realize authors can put any number for their addon.
  Reply With Quote
11-19-14, 05:46 PM   #5
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
You'd think that would be the case, but it's not, unless it's been changed in the last few weeks. Every time I've tried it, it reports tons of addons as needing updates, but if I actually look at the "latest" version vs installed version, there are many cases where both versions are using the same format and the "latest" version is clearly numerically inferior, but I'm told to "update" anyway.

If you only have addons you installed from WoWI you shouldn't ever run into this situation, but unfortunately that isn't a viable option for me, as many of the addons I use are either not on WoWI at all, or have WoWI versions that lag far behind the versions available on Curse.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
11-20-14, 10:56 AM   #6
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,229
Originally Posted by rocnroll View Post
That does not make sense. Shouldn't the logic be WI has a newer (i.e. higher) version number than what you have? I realize authors can put any number for their addon.
Version numbers don't always have numbers. We are working to improve this though as right now Minion only checks if the version is different. So we are working on ones where authors do have only int based versions and doing just that. It still will have trouble with authors that put letters and words into the version string.

This is why we make the version numbers big and visible when Minion wants to update it. You can right click the AddOn wanting an update and choose to ignore updates for that AddOn.
  Reply With Quote
11-20-14, 04:13 PM   #7
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,600
Also, what if author A uses this versioning scheme:
  • 1.8
  • 1.9
  • 1.10
  • 1.11
But author B uses this:
  • 1.08
  • 1.09
  • 1.10
  • 1.11
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Things I've noticed

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off