Quantcast Run Addons from NAS? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
02-05-10, 07:08 AM   #1
Twidget
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Twidget's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Question Run Addons from NAS?

Hi,
I play WoW both on my desktop PC and sometimes from my laptop. I run the same addons on both so I wondered if it is possible to move my Addons directory to an NAS drive and config WoW to point to it? I thought since WoW just seems to load the addons once that it would only slow down the initial startup but then the rest of the game would be running locally. That way I would only have to update my addons in one place instead of on each machine.

Thanks,
Twidget
  Reply With Quote
02-05-10, 07:11 AM   #2
contramundi
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
contramundi's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 179
what about putting WoW on the NAS drive completely and point a shortcut to the launcher there, i'm not really into the NAS drive's but if your able to browse to it like its a network folder, it might work.
  Reply With Quote
02-05-10, 07:16 AM   #3
Twidget
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Twidget's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Originally Posted by contramundi View Post
what about putting WoW on the NAS drive completely and point a shortcut to the launcher there, i'm not really into the NAS drive's but if your able to browse to it like its a network folder, it might work.
Hi,
I thought of that. I could do that but it would be much slower running the game over the network vice running it from a local HDD. That's why I wonder if there is a config setting in WoW, or a registry setting, or something, that would allow me to just move the Addons directory to the NAS.

Thanks,
Twidget
  Reply With Quote
02-05-10, 07:18 AM   #4
nightcracker
A Molten Giant
 
nightcracker's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 716
Originally Posted by Twidget View Post
Hi,
I thought of that. I could do that but it would be much slower running the game over the network vice running it from a local HDD. That's why I wonder if there is a config setting in WoW, or a registry setting, or something, that would allow me to just move the Addons directory to the NAS.

Thanks,
Twidget
WoW has just one location for the AddOns directory, namely: <installpath>\Interface\AddOns.

This can't be changed. I'm sorry.
__________________
Three things are certain,
Death, taxes and site not found,
You, victim of one.
  Reply With Quote
02-05-10, 07:23 AM   #5
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
Originally Posted by Twidget View Post
Hi,
I thought of that. I could do that but it would be much slower running the game over the network vice running it from a local HDD. That's why I wonder if there is a config setting in WoW, or a registry setting, or something, that would allow me to just move the Addons directory to the NAS.

Thanks,
Twidget
I think that WoW, for the most part, is hard coded to look for AddOns in a specific location. The only time that WoW will look for AddOns in a different location is if WoW is installed in Windows Vista/7's Program Files folder. Thus WoW has to look elsewhere in the user's Virtual Store.

On all other OSes or if WoW is not installed in Program Files, then WoW expects to find AddOns in your Interface/Addons folder. There is no user accessible config setting (that I have found) to change your AddOn's location, and WoW does not use Registry settings (except for one temporary one).

I think that running from a NAS drive would only be slower when it comes to reading/writing data at startup/log-in/log-off as once you are playing, WoW loads into your local machine's RAM. If you got plenty of RAM, you should be able to start run WoW from a NAS drive without much noticeable slowdown (unless your network is really slow to being with). The slow periods would be when you zone from Kalimdor/Azeroth/Northrend/Outland and into instances. Once zoned in, you should be fine.
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter


Last edited by Zyonin : 02-05-10 at 07:27 AM.
  Reply With Quote
02-05-10, 07:35 AM   #6
Rilgamon
Premium Member
 
Rilgamon's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 753
If your NAS is available as a filepath you could try to have
links in on your both systems to point to a directory on your NAS

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS_symbolic_link
__________________
The cataclysm broke the world ... and the pandas could not fix it!
  Reply With Quote
02-05-10, 08:38 AM   #7
forty2j
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 232
WoW will, in fact, follow shortcuts/symlinks. This was broken for a while on Mac in particular, a while back, but it's been fixed.
  Reply With Quote
02-05-10, 09:50 AM   #8
NitraMo
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 24
Another option is using something like Dropbox (or other similar software) to sync the files between the computers. That way you get both the speed of having the files locally and the convenience them being the same on all of your systems. (As an added benefit, you can access the files when you are visiting a friend, or if your NAS has died)
  Reply With Quote
02-05-10, 10:18 AM   #9
Twidget
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Twidget's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Originally Posted by Rilgamon View Post
If your NAS is available as a filepath you could try to have
links in on your both systems to point to a directory on your NAS

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS_symbolic_link
Originally Posted by forty2j View Post
WoW will, in fact, follow shortcuts/symlinks. This was broken for a while on Mac in particular, a while back, but it's been fixed.
Rilgamon & Forty2,
That worked. I setup the symbolic link and it works just fine. A little slow on start up but I expected that.
Thanks!

Originally Posted by NitraMo View Post
Another option is using something like Dropbox (or other similar software) to sync the files between the computers. That way you get both the speed of having the files locally and the convenience them being the same on all of your systems. (As an added benefit, you can access the files when you are visiting a friend, or if your NAS has died)
NitraMo,
I like this idea too. I am going to download it and set it up. It would be nice to avoid the slow startup.
Thanks!

Twidget
  Reply With Quote
02-05-10, 11:55 AM   #10
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
Originally Posted by Twidget View Post
I like this idea too. I am going to download it and set it up. It would be nice to avoid the slow startup.
Thanks!

Twidget
I like the Dropbox idea. I find Dropbox to be very handy with other things so this shouldn't have been a surprise. Then, again, that maybe my irritating cold (and the lack of sleep due to it) talking.

Must get some caffeine...

/caffeine deprived zombie mode
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter

  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » General Discussion » Tech Chat » Run Addons from NAS?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off