Thread Tools Display Modes
03-04-10, 12:42 PM   #1
Aerials
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 92
hp bars for mobs with low amount of max hp?

hi, I'm having problems with my hp bars when the target has a low amount of max hp. here's what i mean:

when targeting the creature with no target before i get this:


when i target it having had a target with a large amount of hp i get this:


i don't have any overrides going for filling the hp bar (i think). anyone know what things could cause this? i really have no idea where the issue would be in my layout.
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 12:52 PM   #2
Aerials
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 92
n/m, i've fixed this now by adding bar:SetValue(min+2) (min+1 wasn't fixing it for the squirrels) to my post update that was only changing the text before. seems to be working fine, yah it makes the health bar show an incorrect amount, but really is it going to be noticable to have it 2 hp off?

hawtness!

and banana dance!

Last edited by Aerials : 03-04-10 at 12:54 PM.
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 01:37 PM   #3
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,027
Why are you calling :SetValue() regardless? Based on your variable name you don't seem to be doing anything unorthodox.
__________________
「貴方は1人じゃないよ」
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 02:27 PM   #4
Aerials
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 92
I wasn't before, and for some reason the bars didn't fill properly on mobs with incredibly low max hp. but overriding the value to add 2 hp seems to work fine. they would however work fine if i targeted myself then the mob (generally it's only critters that have low enough hp to have the issue, but still... as close to perfection as possible is what I'm after.

for example, the rabbits in dal have 1 hp, and the bar would fill half way, the squirrels have 8 hp and the bar wuold fill about 2/3 of the way.
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 02:30 PM   #5
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,027
Originally Posted by Aerials View Post
I wasn't before, and for some reason the bars didn't fill properly on mobs with incredibly low max hp. but overriding the value to add 2 hp seems to work fine. they would however work fine if i targeted myself then the mob (generally it's only critters that have low enough hp to have the issue, but still... as close to perfection as possible is what I'm after.
Can you re-create the issue with other layouts? (ie. Lily or Classic*). Because you really make it sound like a bug in oUF.

* Just make sure you have the same frequentUpdates setting as you use (or just test with it enabled/disabled).
__________________
「貴方は1人じゃないよ」
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 02:32 PM   #6
Aerials
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 92
i'll try it out. i'm not sure if it's a bug in oUF, it could really easily be in my layout.
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 02:34 PM   #7
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,027
I would expect it to be if you weren't calling :SetValue() before.

[Clarification]: oUF bug that is.
__________________
「貴方は1人じゃないよ」
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 02:35 PM   #8
Aerials
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 92
it's not doing it with lily, so it's gotta be something in my layout.

it's also not doing that in classic, i'm going to try out changing the frequent updates.

Last edited by Aerials : 03-04-10 at 02:40 PM.
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 03:16 PM   #9
Aerials
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 92
i found the problem i typo'd colorSmooth to just Smooth (probably a copy paste fail).
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 03:20 PM   #10
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,027
So it's an issue with oUF Smooth Update in other words .
__________________
「貴方は1人じゃないよ」
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 03:27 PM   #11
Aerials
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 92
not unless it's default is on... i had done self.Health.Smooth instead of self.Health.colorSmooth. i'm really not 100% sure if that was the problem though, 'cuz setting it to true or false has the same result (it works). mmmm, i should only work on this stuff when i can give it full attention, because now i can't re-create it at all..... so the probelm is fixed, i'm pretty sure that's the only change i made but i can't get the problem back changing it back. i musta changed something else somewhere else.

Last edited by Aerials : 03-04-10 at 03:31 PM.
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 03:29 PM   #12
Aerials
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 92
ok, i'm guessing there's something for setting self.Health.Smooth = true? 'cuz that's when i get the issue, it doesn't do it with that set false. i was trying for colorSmooth anyway, and that works with true or false.
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 03:32 PM   #13
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,027
Originally Posted by Aerials View Post
ok, i'm guessing there's something for setting self.Health.Smooth = true? 'cuz that's when i get the issue, it doesn't do it with that set false. i was trying for colorSmooth anyway, and that works with true or false.
Based on the smooth update page .Smooth is the variable used to toggle it.
__________________
「貴方は1人じゃないよ」
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 03:40 PM   #14
Aerials
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 92
ah, i see now. it's the smooth update plugin. maybe i should try updating the one i have i have 1.1 and the current is 1.3
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 03:43 PM   #15
Aerials
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 92
yup, that was it. after updating that addon it works fine.

that's the problem with so many plugins.... hard to remember which i've updated recently, and annoying to update a lot of them.
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 04:55 PM   #16
nightcracker
A Molten Giant
 
nightcracker's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 716
Am I the only one or do these unitframes look pretty damn sexy?
__________________
Three things are certain,
Death, taxes and site not found,
You, victim of one.
  Reply With Quote
03-04-10, 05:43 PM   #17
Aerials
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 92
the ones i showed in the first post?
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » oUF (Otravi Unit Frames) » hp bars for mobs with low amount of max hp?


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off