Quantcast
Blah! - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
04-01-09, 04:16 PM   #1
Haavok
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Haavok's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 336
Post Blah!

If you are running both Carbonite and Cartographer 3 you are likely seeing “BLAH!” floating in the middle of the screen. This message is a result of a conflict between the two add-ons. The actual message does not come from either add-on but is in fact the default value of the WorldMapFrameAreaLabel frame from WorldMapFrame.xml (Blizzard’s own UI code).

You will need to disable one of the add-ons in order to remove this message. If we can find a solution to make both addons coexist in the future we will attempt to address this.

Update:

Go into Options -> Interface -> AddOns -> Cartographer3
Click the ‘+’ button
Select ‘Advanced’
Check ‘Separate Cartographer3 from the World Map’
This appears to resolve the conflict
Note: You’ll need to make a key binding to open up the Cart map.
__________________
-Haavok

Last edited by Haavok : 04-01-09 at 05:58 PM. Reason: cleanup
 
04-03-09, 06:18 AM   #2
Spahut
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 231
But do we need to be "warned" on all characters?


A primary reason to use Cartographer 3 as well as Carbonite is that Cartographer lets you set the level at which it goes from texture to map.

I find this a much needed feature.

For instance in Wintergrasp I *don't* want to see the texture, it makes it harder for me to see. Using the normal map graphics its easier to see if a wall is down.

And sometimes i wish to see a huge area as texture.

Neither of these things are possible with Carbonite.
 
04-16-09, 02:12 AM   #3
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Carbonite has had those two features for a long time, but Carbonite Quest never did.

Right click a non icon area of the Carb map, select Scale and change the "Details At Scale" slider. Default is 4. Lower numbers means it turns details on sooner (zoomed our farther).

Right click a non icon area of the Carb map, select Options, left click "Detail graphics visible area" and type a new number. Default is 6. Bigger numbers shows more blocks at a time.
__________________
faatal
 
04-24-09, 09:26 AM   #4
AnthonyK
WTF
 
AnthonyK's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Originally Posted by carboniteaddon View Post
Carbonite has had those two features for a long time, but Carbonite Quest never did.

Right click a non icon area of the Carb map, select Scale and change the "Details At Scale" slider. Default is 4. Lower numbers means it turns details on sooner (zoomed our farther).

Right click a non icon area of the Carb map, select Options, left click "Detail graphics visible area" and type a new number. Default is 6. Bigger numbers shows more blocks at a time.

Amazing what you'll find in posts that seem to be off topic of an issue you (the reader) are having. This fixed my issue I was posting about the maps. It seems my values somehow got changed or reset. Once I changed these values around I fixed my issue with the needing to zoom out to see the names on the map.

Thanks for this.
 
05-26-09, 06:46 PM   #5
LoialOtter
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
no BLAH! w. Carbonite + Cartographer

You can use both Carbonite and Cartographer 3 at the same time by disabling carbonite's "Move fullscreen map data into maximized Carbonite map" under Map in the config window.

I use this setup all the time as i find Cartographer does a better job at hijacking (what cartographer calls it) the icons. Carbonite, however, has the awsome quest tracking, so i keep it open as a second minimap.

With this setup, i've never seen the BLAH! message.

Last edited by LoialOtter : 05-26-09 at 06:57 PM.
 
05-27-10, 09:31 AM   #6
Romolus
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
simi-off topic, sorry.
I'm getting some "blah!" messages, problem is I'm not sure this is the same kind of blah messages... I don't use anyother map addon (so no cart3 or whatever), but while I'm standing around (it happens mostly in Dal or Org, sometimes in WG with/without the battle going on, and everyonce in a while in 25 man raids) I get Yellow combat text (figured out it was combat text when I turned off the blizz damage text, and even then, it just moved it to the chat box) that is usally blah mixed with my toons name and anyother toons name I'm around (don't have to be in group with them, just in the same area I guess).

Idk, do I need to get a damage text addon? or is there a setting or something I can change to get that gone?

edit: also, I have turned that "share with group/guild/zone" thing off, and I still get the same messages.

Last edited by Romolus : 05-27-10 at 10:08 AM.
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite Archive » Blah!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off