Thread Tools Display Modes
05-01-10, 03:44 PM   #1
Becvar
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Moving the entire UI?

I use dual monitors, and I have successfully modified the scale to be the perfect size. My problem is that I only use 1 monitor for playable area, with misc addons that are not vital to raiding on the other, and when I change the UI scale, it stays centered across both monitors. Is there anything I can add to the .lua file to change the default position? I don't know anything about lua except how to copy-paste into it .
 
05-01-10, 11:54 PM   #2
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
I don't think nUI is set up to work with dual monitor setups at the moment but I vaguely recall Scott mentioning it awhile back so maybe he was working it into version 6.
__________________
 
05-02-10, 05:14 AM   #3
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
It should be possible to re-anchor the dashboard and console.

Edit [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Main > nUI.lua ] and locate the section of code I've copied below.

Code:
nUI_BottomBars.Anchor = CreateFrame( "Frame", "$parent_Anchor", nUI_BottomBars );
nUI_BottomBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", UIParent, "BOTTOM", 0, 0 );
nUI_BottomBars:SetPoint( "TOP", nUI_BottomBarsLocator, "TOP", 0, 0 );
nUI_BottomBars.Anchor:SetPoint( "TOP", nUI_BottomBars, "TOP", 0, 0 );

nUI_Dashboard.Anchor = CreateFrame( "Frame", "$parent_Anchor", nUI_Dashboard );
nUI_Dashboard:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_BottomBarsLocator, "TOP", 0, 0 );
nUI_Dashboard.Anchor:SetPoint( "CENTER", nUI_Dashboard, "CENTER", 0, 0 );

nUI_TopBars.Anchor = CreateFrame( "Frame", "$parent_Anchor", nUI_TopBars );
nUI_TopBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", UIParent, "TOP", 0, 0 );
nUI_TopBars:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_TopBarsLocator, "BOTTOM", 0, -115 );
nUI_TopBars.Anchor:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_TopBars, "BOTTOM", 0, 0 );
If you want nUI's elements to appear in your left monitor, then make the following two changes to the areas I have highlighted...

Code:
nUI_BottomBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMLEFT", UIParent, "BOTTOMLEFT",  0, 0 );
nUI_TopBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMLEFT",  UIParent, "TOPLEFT", 0, 0 );
If you want nUI's elements in the right hand display, make these changes...

Code:
nUI_BottomBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMRIGHT", UIParent, "BOTTOMRIGHT",   0, 0 );
nUI_TopBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMRIGHT",  UIParent, "TOPRIGHT", 0, 0 );
NOTE: If you're using FuBar, TitanPanel or any of the integrated data brokers then things are going to be more complicated.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
05-02-10, 12:33 PM   #4
Becvar
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Awesome, I'll give this a shot. As for LDB addons, I ditched FuBar for Fortress a long time ago, since it gives me a fully movable and dockable item for each addon.
 
05-02-10, 05:35 PM   #5
Becvar
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Worked perfectly. Just needed a little tweaking of the scale to get it onto one screen only, but now it's just how I wanted it!
 
04-17-11, 11:56 PM   #6
Omightyfear
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Sizing

how can i resize nui on my screen that way i can see more of screen, do not get me wrong love nui just like to resize it for me, my settings are 1920 x1080. ty
 
04-18-11, 12:29 AM   #7
tinyu
A Molten Giant
 
tinyu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 837
Originally Posted by Omightyfear View Post
how can i resize nui on my screen that way i can see more of screen, do not get me wrong love nui just like to resize it for me, my settings are 1920 x1080. ty
Whats your UI Scale set to?
__________________
"There's no such thing as too many addons."
Lothaer
Titan Dev Team Member.
 
04-18-11, 04:51 AM   #8
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
I usually run nUI on my 1400x900 screen with a lowest scale setting ( 0.6 / 60% ). It will make the writing smaller so you will have to work around that if that becomes a problem.
__________________
 
05-16-11, 08:08 AM   #9
Omightyfear
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Resizing

still having trouble finding where to resize nui, and how you get to where you can resize it
 
05-16-11, 10:39 AM   #10
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Look here: http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=20917
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » Moving the entire UI?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off