01-25-17, 09:23 AM   #1
sendrock
A Defias Bandit
[Solved] Help moving a variable outside of an event

Hi everyone,

I'm a total newbie, I never tried to code anything before this addon for me and my friends. After a week of reading/testing and asking about SavedVariable, I had something that worked (by miracle).

The code was pretty ugly coz after testing, sometimes, I forgot to delete things (here is the old code : http://pastebin.com/z28uZRrC )

So, I tried to make it easier to read and now, and now I have this one : http://pastebin.com/QUAA1G8k

Now here is my problem, I wanted to move the line 141 'local mydbname = Init_SAKL_DB()'; to the line 102 (copy/paste). I wanted this, to create the "mydbname" variable when PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD instead of creating it when the player enter the tooltip.

But when I move it to the line 102, then I have an error "trying to index mydbname a nil value".

I think it's because I use "local mydbname" at line 102, so at line 103 (end) mydbname is deleted. But how can I make it to stay alive ? I can make it global, without declaring the "local thing", but I always read " make your variable local, so you avoid problems with others addon".

If you have any advice on what I'm doing wrong, I'll take it and try to apply it

TLDR : An Error When I move my line 141 to line 102. If someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong, I'll try to fix it coz for now, I'm lost :/

Last edited by sendrock : 01-26-17 at 09:12 AM. Reason: solved
01-25-17, 11:44 AM   #2
Kanegasi
A Molten Giant

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
At the top of your file, use local mydbname with no = and then on line 102, remove "local" like you're declaring a global. Just like the other variables at the top, mydbname is now local to your file, so any changes to it stay local.
01-25-17, 04:49 PM   #3
sendrock
A Defias Bandit
Hello, first, thanks for answering.