Thread Tools Display Modes
06-01-09, 09:38 PM   #1
Astrocanis
A Black Drake
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 84
nUI_Button.lua

Received this error the first time I targeted something:

Interface\Addons\nUI\Bars\nUI_Button.lua:1196:Usage:UnitIsUnit("unit","otherUnit").

Pressing "Okay" did not resolve it - the error continued.
 
06-01-09, 11:50 PM   #2
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,935
Hmm, sounds like that split second target is locked kinda thing. Anything else mentioned after that line to shed some more light on the problem ?
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
06-02-09, 04:12 AM   #3
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Hmmm... that's a really odd one. The only way that error could occur is if an aura on the target didn't have anyone who cast the aura. o.O

In any event, I've added a trap for it. You can fix it yourself until I get the next patch out by editing [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Bars > nUI_Button.lua ] and going to line 1192 where you'll see the following segment of code... add the new line (that's in blue) to the rest of the section.

Code:
if  aura.end_time
and aura.caster
and aura.end_time > proc_time
and aura.name == overlay.spellStatus.name
and aura.rank == overlay.spellStatus.rank                    
and UnitIsUnit( aura.caster, "player" )
then 
    overlay.spellStatus.remains = aura.end_time - proc_time;
    overlay.spellStatus.color   = { r=0, g=1, b=1 };
    break;
end
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
06-02-09, 04:26 AM   #4
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,935
Is it possible that the person that cast the aura left the raid and thus the addon couldn't identify the owner ?

I know auras eventually get removed when people respec and possibly leave the raid but maybe it was one of those split second tests that went wrong.
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
06-02-09, 06:12 AM   #5
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Yeah -- I'm guessing it's something like that. The "and aura.caster" addition to that conditional should solve the problem since Lua uses short-circuit logic rules. The "and aura.caster" would resolve to false and kill the test before it gets to the UnitIsUnit( aura.caster, "player" ) test.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
06-02-09, 07:11 AM   #6
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,935
rofl .. Im still trying to figure out those weird and/or combinations .. I've been doing simple conditionals as I know how they work
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
06-02-09, 10:20 PM   #7
fred
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 208
Error after playing for awhile

Still solo...nothing special.Guess I'm just good at breaking stuff

[2009/06/02 23:18:51-6-x26]: nUI-5.03.06 (Dev)\Bars\nUI_Button.lua:1218: Usage: UnitIsUnit("unit", "otherUnit")
nUI-5.03.06 (Dev)\Bars\nUI_Button.lua:1218: in function <Interface\AddOns\nUI\Bars\nUI_Button.lua:1155>

---
 
06-03-09, 04:56 AM   #8
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,935
Ah another one of these .. sheesh .. played for hours today and had no errors whatsoever .. rofl, what are you guys doing to this ?
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
06-03-09, 06:14 AM   #9
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Yeah -- this really puzzles me as I've *never* seen this error. Gotta figure out what's causing it.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
06-03-09, 01:49 PM   #10
Lackin
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 26
Problem

Everytime i get on a mount of any kind i get an error
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_060309_111108.jpg
Views:	645
Size:	404.3 KB
ID:	2799  Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_060309_120738.jpg
Views:	630
Size:	374.3 KB
ID:	2800  
 
06-03-09, 01:56 PM   #11
Lackin
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 26
And another 0ne And this error is if i click on anything it pops up so i have to not click on anything and if i click on something to kill it it pops up
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_060309_145336.jpg
Views:	634
Size:	483.5 KB
ID:	2801  

Last edited by Lackin : 06-03-09 at 01:59 PM.
 
06-03-09, 05:23 PM   #12
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Lackin View Post
And another 0ne And this error is if i click on anything it pops up so i have to not click on anything and if i click on something to kill it it pops up
Lackin -- let me know if the fix I just posted in the previous message fixes this for you or not.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
06-04-09, 06:40 AM   #13
Lackin
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 26
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
Lackin -- let me know if the fix I just posted in the previous message fixes this for you or not.
So far So good the patch works for me no errors will let you know if there is one
 
06-04-09, 04:26 PM   #14
Yagle
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
Lua error during Argent Tourney

Unsure if this has been posted.

Interface\Addons\nUI\Bars\nUI_Button.lua:310:GetSpellName():Invalid spell slot

I get this error whenever I mount a ride in the Argent Tournament. It seems to be spell slot 5 on a mounted combat vehicle.
 
06-04-09, 04:42 PM   #15
demanl
A Cyclonian
 
demanl's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 43
Getting the same lua error when mounting most quest mounts in Northrend...

Date: 2009-06-04 18:39:40
ID: 1
Error occured in: Global
Count: 1
Message: ..\AddOns\nUI\Bars\nUI_Button.lua line 310:
GetSpellName(): Invalid spell slot
Debug:
[C]: ?
[C]: GetSpellName()
nUI\Bars\nUI_Button.lua:310:
nUI\Bars\nUI_Button.lua:278
[C]: ActionButton_Update()
..\FrameXML\ActionButton.lua:149: ActionButton_UpdateAction()
[string "*:OnAttributeChanged"]:1:
[string "*:OnAttributeChanged"]:1
[C]: SetAttribute()
..\FrameXML\RestrictedFrames.lua:522: SetAttribute()
[string " ..."]:6:
[string " ..."]:1
(tail call): ?
[C]: ?
..\FrameXML\RestrictedExecution.lua:825:
..\FrameXML\RestrictedExecution.lua:796
(tail call): ?
..\FrameXML\SecureHandlers.lua:168:
..\FrameXML\SecureHandlers.lua:163
[C]: SetAttribute()
..\FrameXML\SecureStateDriver.lua:100:
..\FrameXML\SecureStateDriver.lua:81


 
06-05-09, 03:56 AM   #16
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Yagle View Post
Unsure if this has been posted.

Interface\Addons\nUI\Bars\nUI_Button.lua:310:GetSpellName():Invalid spell slot

I get this error whenever I mount a ride in the Argent Tournament. It seems to be spell slot 5 on a mounted combat vehicle.
Yagle and Demanl -- have you tried the patch in this post?

http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...3&postcount=22

I would be curious to know if it resolves this problem for you.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
06-07-09, 12:37 PM   #17
Laquin
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Issue in Wintergrasp

I received the following error consistently while receiving attacks/conducting attacks on enemy players:

Interface\Addons\nUI\Bars\nUI_Button.lua:1
225: Usage: UnitIsUnit("unit", "otherUnit")

(Sorry I don't have one of the fancy error report addons yet. This is how it looked in the window that popped up.)
Any chance you could look into this?
 
06-07-09, 12:46 PM   #18
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Can you try applying the fix in this post ( http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...8&postcount=14 ) and see if it solves the problem for you not?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
06-07-09, 09:22 PM   #19
Astrocanis
A Black Drake
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 84
I am now receiving "Interface\AddOns\nUI\Bars\nUI_Button.lua:1225:Usage:UnitIsUnit("unit","otherunit") with an Okay button.

This occurs primarily when I target someone from another server.
 
06-07-09, 09:27 PM   #20
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
o.O

In tonight's release (5.03.08/5.03.09), or an earlier one?

The line number you give is not the one where the UnitIsUnit() test is made in the current code.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » nUI_Button.lua


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off