Thread Tools Display Modes
12-14-09, 03:17 PM   #21
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,933
Easily done Scott. I deliberately hovered over the initial error messages on the screens with the error occuring but I'll grab the errors out.

Code:
		{
			["message"] = "nUI-5.06.06 (Plus)\\Bars\\nUI_MicroMenu.lua:236: attempt to index local 'options' (a nil value)\nnUI-5.06.06 (Plus)\\Bars\\nUI_MicroMenu.lua:292: in function <Interface\\AddOns\\nUI\\Bars\\nUI_MicroMenu.lua:279>\n\n  ---",
			["type"] = "error",
			["time"] = "2009/12/14 19:37:30",
			["session"] = 28,
			["counter"] = 1,
		}, -- [51]
		{
			["message"] = "nUI-5.06.06 (Plus)\\Bars\\nUI_XPBar.lua:224: attempt to index field 'options' (a nil value)\nnUI-5.06.06 (Plus)\\Bars\\nUI_XPBar.lua:351: in function <Interface\\AddOns\\nUI\\Bars\\nUI_XPBar.lua:337>\n\n  ---",
			["type"] = "error",
			["time"] = "2009/12/14 19:37:30",
			["session"] = 28,
			["counter"] = 1,
		}, -- [52]
		{
			["message"] = "nUI-5.06.06 (Plus)\\Integration\\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:314: attempt to perform arithmetic on a nil value\nnUI-5.06.06 (Plus)\\Integration\\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:469: in function `applyOptions'\nnUI-5.06.06 (Plus)\\Integration\\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:573: in function `configFrame'\nnUI-5.06.06 (Plus)\\Integration\\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:119: in function <Interface\\AddOns\\nUI\\Integration\\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:112>\n\n  ---",
			["type"] = "error",
			["time"] = "2009/12/14 19:37:31",
			["session"] = 28,
			["counter"] = 1,
		}, -- [53]
		{
			["message"] = "Blizzard_CombatLog\\Blizzard_CombatLog.lua:3614: attempt to perform arithmetic on a nil value\nBlizzard_CombatLog\\Blizzard_CombatLog.lua:3677: in function `Blizzard_CombatLog_QuickButton_OnClick'\nBlizzard_CombatLog\\Blizzard_CombatLog.lua:3480: in function <...ace\\AddOns\\Blizzard_CombatLog\\Blizzard_CombatLog.lua:3476>\n<in C code>: in function `Show'\nInterface\\FrameXML\\ChatFrame.lua:2334: in function `ChatFrame_ConfigEventHandler':\nInterface\\FrameXML\\ChatFrame.lua:2312: in function `ChatFrame_OnEvent':\n<string>:\"*:OnEvent\":1: in function <[string \"*:OnEvent\"]:1>\nBlizzard_CombatLog\\Blizzard_CombatLog.lua:3352: in function <...ace\\AddOns\\Blizzard_CombatLog\\Blizzard_CombatLog.lua:3331>\n\n  ---",
			["type"] = "error",
			["time"] = "2009/12/14 19:37:31",
			["session"] = 28,
			["counter"] = 1,
		}, -- [54]
		{
			["message"] = "Interface\\FrameXML\\FloatingChatFrame.lua:784: attempt to perform arithmetic on a nil value:\n<string>:\"*:OnUpdate\":1: in function <[string \"*:OnUpdate\"]:1>\n\n  ---",
			["type"] = "error",
			["time"] = "2009/12/14 19:37:31",
			["session"] = 28,
			["counter"] = 65,
		}, -- [55]
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
12-14-09, 05:50 PM   #22
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Okay -- that error is indicating that there are no configuration options for the toon you logged in on. If you look in the [ WTF > Account > {your account} > {realm} > {toon name} > SavedVariables > nUI.lua file two questions: 1) does the file exist, what do the contents of that file look like?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-14-09, 06:07 PM   #23
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,933
That is exactly the reason

I deliberately removed the WTF folder prior to running the launchers update to 3.3 so that all addons would create their own file from scratch ( my version of a clean install ). I suspect that alot of people getting this once or twice is due to this way of clean installing.

I then logged in and created a few toons but didn't log into them last night. Today, wondering if that is the cause of the description they gave I deliberately tested those toons. However, I was only expecting that error to exist once per toon.

When I was seeing it a few times on the same toon after the initial login / logout I was expecting the WTF files to have been messed up. But alas. Apart from varying order to the files contents I saw nothing that would explain the cause. I deliberately reordered the files contents to match the one that worked fine and it worked fine. But on log out it had rearranged itself again but logging in worked again. But initially it did repeatedly bring up that error message. Now whether those first few times it had had problems writing the WTF file I don't know as it wasn't until the last test that I checked them all.

I'll try and replicate the multiple error messages again tomorrow unless I get in a programming mood and decide to go play with DirectX I may have just had an unlucky occurrence today as somehow it seemed to fix itself and I can't see why or how.
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
12-14-09, 06:17 PM   #24
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I think what's happening here is that because the toon was never logged in, WoW is creating a saved variables file that contains an empty configuration.... and I have *no* clue how I can fix that since there's really no way I can tell that happened.

I'll look at it and see what I can come up with... maybe there's a way I can add a variable to test and see if the config contains valid data or not and if it doesn't, reset it.

I dunno.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-14-09, 06:27 PM   #25
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,933
I think in most instances it will be a one of as most people have said a /rl will correct it. As long as that is consistent and not a repeatable task I am sure until something can be figured out people will be able to live with that once per toon/reset option.

Now, perhaps nUI could use the default set of values at the time of start up so that on use of the WTF variables it is either using what was loaded up per toon or what the addon will eventually write to it.

This is what I do for my LootAlerter Addon. It will use these values as a starting point and then fill it with what is already on file. This code appears just after the data tables are set up for localisation and other values, but before any functions or other tables need access to it. It is also loaded before the files that need access to it so the data is there waiting for use whether it be the blank new data or data loaded.

Code:
-- Global Addon Settings
LootAlerterDB = {};
LootAlerterDB.trackType = false;
LootAlerterDB.trackTypeList = {};
LootAlerterDB.ignoreTypeList = {};
LootAlerterDB.trackRarity = false;
LootAlerterDB.minRarity = _C["POOR"];
LootAlerterDB.trackItemLevel = false;
LootAlerterDB.minItemLevel = _C["MIN_ITEM_LEVEL"];
LootAlerterDB.trackMinLevel = false;
LootAlerterDB.minMinLevel = _C["MIN_MIN_LEVEL"];
LootAlerterDB.ReportBeforeLoot = false;
LootAlerterDB.PlaySound = true;
LootAlerterDB.IgnoreItems = false;
LootAlerterDB.IgnoreList = {};

-- Per Character Wish List Items
LootAlerterWL = {};
LootAlerterWL.trackWishList = false;
LootAlerterWL.Items = {};
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
12-14-09, 06:54 PM   #26
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
The problem is that nUI is relying on the default set of options, but WoW is wiping them out because of the empty saved variables file. What I have to do is figure out a way to "reset" the values in the file is empty without wiping out the settings for everyone who's not having the problem.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-14-09, 07:32 PM   #27
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
For those who are having this problem, I would like to know if the attached file fixes the problem for you or not.

.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nUI.zip (1.86 MB, 541 views)
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-14-09, 10:17 PM   #28
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,933
I'll test it out tomorrow, perhaps *evil grin*
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
12-14-09, 10:39 PM   #29
ibdeglow
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
I don't know how close my problem was but I was missing my hud fromn only 1 toon. the others were fine. So reading your one section mentioninf the lua files. I deleted them. I included the backup file also..I have my hud back and everything is fine. it created new files just like I was logging on for the first time!
 
12-15-09, 03:42 AM   #30
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
What I have to do is figure out a way to "reset" the values in the file is empty without wiping out the settings for everyone who's not having the problem.
I'm not familiar with nUI's inner workings, but I generally use something like this to handle "default" settings:

Code:
local defaultDB = {
	a = true,
	b = 5,
	c = "blah",
	d = {
		x = "y",
		y = 2,
		z = false,
	}
}

if not MyAddonDB then
	--
	-- The saved variables table doesn't exist yet.
	-- Either this is the first run for this addon, or the user deleted
	-- the saved variables file for this addon.
	--
	MyAddonDB = defaultDB
else
	--
	-- The saved variables table already exists.
	-- This addon has been loaded before.
	-- Run through the defaults table and make sure there all the keys
	-- are present in the saved variables table.
	--
	local function copyTable(src, dst)
		if type(src) ~= "table" then return { } end
		if type(dst) ~= "table" then dst = { } end
		for k, v in pairs(src) do
			if type(v) == "table" then
				dst[k] = copyTable(v, dst[k])
			elseif type(v) ~= type(dst[k]) then
				dst[k] = v
			end
		end
		return dst
	end
	copyTable(defaultDB, MyAddonDB)
end
It must not be run before saved variables are loaded (I generally run it when ADDON_LOADED fires for my addon), and won't work if your addon allows multiple value types (boolean, string, etc) for the same key in your saved variables table.

But, if MyAddonDB["blah"] is always a number, then the above code will make sure that there is a MyAddonDB["blah"] key with a number value. If there is, it will leave the existing value alone, but if there isn't, it will add the key with the default value.
 
12-15-09, 05:35 AM   #31
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Yeah -- nUI does a similar thing... it creates the "default" settings for the saved variables when the addon it loaded. But what appears to be happening here is that if the user creates a character and exits WoW without having logged in on the character, WoW is creating a saved variables file with the saved variables set to empty tables. Once that happens, then when VARIABLES_LOADED fires WoW has overwritten the "default" settings with an empty table. I've never seen this happen until Patch 3.3

What I'm doing now is making a copy of the default settings in the "ADDON_LOADED" event and at the top of the "VARIABLES_LOADED" event I'm checking to see if the table is empty and if it is I replace it with the default settings -- at least that's what I'm testing as a solution in this file.

We'll see if that fixes it.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-15-09, 07:27 AM   #32
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,933
I will repeat what I did earlier and see if it resolves the situation.
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
12-15-09, 02:17 PM   #33
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,933
Uhoh, didn't seem to work unfortunately.

Steps Carried Out :

1. Deleted 3 New Toons so that they could be recreated. Logged Out.
2. Renamed WTF Folder so that WoW could recreate it.
3. Created all 3 Toons again but never logged them in. Logged Out.
4. Logged in Amynris ( Night Elf Rogue ). No Error. Moved Tooltip. Logged Out.
5. Logged in Amynris. Error. Logged Out.

Please find attached the WTF nUI.lua file for Amynris while still logged in with error occuring as well as the !BugGrabber contents.

However, after carrying out step 5 again after posting this it worked. So, please find another copy of the nUI.lua file at this point. Also, when I repeated it a third time there was still no error and can confirm the tooltip that had been moved on first login was still at the position I moved it to.
Attached Files
File Type: lua nUI.lua (1.5 KB, 517 views)
File Type: lua !BugGrabber.lua (2.5 KB, 507 views)
File Type: lua nUI - Second.lua (1.5 KB, 511 views)
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818

Last edited by Xrystal : 12-15-09 at 02:23 PM.
 
12-15-09, 02:56 PM   #34
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,933
Well, thought I would try this out on 2 more characters and do something slightly different with these by not changing anything.

I'll post them in different messages so that the nUI.lua files don't get confused

First Up.

One of my new toons Shauleste (Night Elf Druid).

1. Logged in, No error and showed new nUI screen, Logged Out.
2. Logged in, Error, Logged Out.
3. Logged in, No Error, Logged Out.

Here are the nUI.lua files for this gal after steps 1 and 2 were completed.

The error messages are identical so I won't repeat them here.
Attached Files
File Type: lua nUI - After First Log In.lua (1.3 KB, 520 views)
File Type: lua nUI - After Second Log In.lua (1.3 KB, 521 views)
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
12-15-09, 03:00 PM   #35
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,933
Last one, this one is my new girl from yesterday that I didn't delete today. Well, I worked her hard to get her to level 4 to test the PallyPower plugin

Anyways her name is Tandrea - Blood Elf.

1. Logged In. Error. Logged Out.
2. Logged In. No Error, nUI Splash Screen, Logged Out.
3. Logged In. No Error, Logged Out.

As before here are the nUI.lua files for her after stages 1 and 2 were completed. I will also throw in the Buggrabber.lua file containing all 3 characters error messages showing their identicalness ( is that a word ? )

Hopefully these will help you figure out what you can do to cut the errors down further but it seems overrall the solution works. Somewhat
Attached Files
File Type: lua nUI - After First Login.lua (1.1 KB, 504 views)
File Type: lua nUI - After Second Login.lua (1.3 KB, 518 views)
File Type: lua !BugGrabber.lua (7.3 KB, 514 views)
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
12-15-09, 03:42 PM   #36
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Thanks Xrystal.

PS: That Christmas present did not mean you were expected to bust your butt for nUI now ~lol~ Relax... have some fun! ~smile~
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-15-09, 03:54 PM   #37
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,933
Rofl, its the only thing I missed about wow So its no biggie. But believe me I'll be quiet off an on. Namely when Im busy in Aion or programming or working on my many other hobbies Besides, however can I appreciate the gesture but by adding to the interface I can't put aside Believe me, the moment I find out Aion can work with addons and the same with Star Wars when it comes out you will be the first to know

Rofl, also, I love testing things out
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
12-16-09, 01:51 AM   #38
blackmax19
A Murloc Raider
 
blackmax19's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
I finally figured out my issue. I followed the directions to essentially start with a fresh WTF, loaded NUI and that worked fine. Systematically, reloading addons - two attempts at this btw. Narrowed it down to the nUi_InfoPanel_Carbonite (continued) addon which was updated for 3.3.
If i keep this addon off, everything is fine - log and add it and it screws up again
 
12-16-09, 05:28 AM   #39
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Just out of curiosity, is carbonite updated for 3.3?

I'm wondering if they changed something in carbonite that's causing the plugin to break now. Or if carbonite itself is breaking and that's causing the plugin to break (which in turn causes nUI to break)
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
12-16-09, 07:51 AM   #40
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,827
Carbonite itself has been updated for the patch 3.3 I know I'm running it as well as the Carb InfoPanel Plugin made by Carz with zero errors.
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » No Hud, No Unit Frames Appearing,


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off