Thread Tools Display Modes
04-07-24, 10:13 AM   #1
indiaum
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Nov 2023
Posts: 2
Newbie question - Change existing frames

Hi guys,

I saw several videos and read a few tutorials on how to write addons. I manage to build a simple one to work as a keybind "trainer", where it reads my actions bars and asks for a random keybind to be pressed, showing the skill/macro icon and associated key, if the player press the correct one, it asks for another one. It's ugly and bad implemented, but i'm happy that I was able to make it work.

Now, I want to learn how to edit my UI, without using support libs like ACE3 ou LibStub, to remove unecessary textures, change colors of healthbars and unitframes icons and stuff like that. I'm super lost on that, I used /fstack to check the frame names, but i have no clue on how to change the icon of PlayerFrame for example. Does people, who create their own UI, hide all Blizzard frames and create new ones or is it possible to edit Blizzard's default frames?

Sorry about my english and thank you all for the info you share here!

Last edited by indiaum : 04-07-24 at 10:19 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04-07-24, 10:48 AM   #2
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,968
People do a variety of things.

Some do as you thought, hide the Blizzard frames and create their own ones.
Other's change the visuals of the Blizzard frames but keep the functionality as is.
Many use the libs you mention to ease some of the workload.

Here;s an example of what is likely a simple addon.
https://www.wowinterface.com/downloa...nsRemover.html

This one might be a bit more complex and may or may not utilise libraries.
https://www.wowinterface.com/downloa...ClassicUI.html

Give them a look see and hopefully some other responses will add more info to help you.
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
  Reply With Quote
04-07-24, 11:25 AM   #3
indiaum
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Nov 2023
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by Xrystal View Post
People do a variety of things.

Some do as you thought, hide the Blizzard frames and create their own ones.
Other's change the visuals of the Blizzard frames but keep the functionality as is.
Many use the libs you mention to ease some of the workload.

Here;s an example of what is likely a simple addon.
https://www.wowinterface.com/downloa...nsRemover.html

This one might be a bit more complex and may or may not utilise libraries.
https://www.wowinterface.com/downloa...ClassicUI.html

Give them a look see and hopefully some other responses will add more info to help you.
Thank you very much! I'll take a look right now.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Tutorials & Other Helpful Info. » Newbie question - Change existing frames

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off